Century 21

Century 21

I’m posting this not for the picture from 2012, but for the message underneath – I finally got unlimited texting today! AKA, I finally joined the 21st century and caught up with the rest of the world! (Side note: “Linny” is a family nickname for me. And no, I’m not normally in the habit of referring to myself in the third person.)

As you can see, the last time I texted both of my parents was in 2012 – I’ve been pretty staunchly anti-text for the last few years. Until today, I had a 200 messages/month texting plan, and that usually worked out well for me. But everyone else in the world seems to have unlimited texting (slight exaggeration, I know), and people seem to text non-stop until you tell them you don’t have a text plan. So I was being put on group texts for volleyball, family stuff, work, and volunteer stuff and it always drove me crazy – especially when people would respond back with “K” or one-word answers/multiple texts.

For the past year, I’ve been reimbursed for $60 of my cell plan, and I’ve been thinking of adding the unlimited texting since then. However, an extra $20/month seemed excessive for something I could definitely live without. But then last week, when I was onsite in NYC, my coworker mentioned that back in November or so the policy changed, and we’re now allowed to expense up to $150/month. HELLO, GAMECHANGER. So this month, I put in my expense report for my full cell plan, about $70 – only a $10 difference, but I was testing the waters. Of course, the expense report got flagged and our VP had to send me direct emails asking what the charge was for/why should he approve it… but after I explained that it was my cell bill, he was fine with it. So once it was approved, I took it as confirmation that the expensable amount really did change… which I then took as my cue to add unlimited texting. Really, if work is going to pay for it, why shouldn’t I? Texts were especially getting out of control with coworkers (and volunteers, but shhhhh!), so at least I feel justified in expensing a text plan.

So yeah, I’ve spent the day trying to figure out who I can text incessantly… mostly, it’s been my parents. And once again, they’re cooler than me – once I really looked at the messaging features that I’d previously ignored, I noticed that there was a video messaging option. I actually had to ask my dad what that was for. I’m such a loser. 😉

From now on, my communications are going to be all-text, all the time! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

