Death Becomes Her

Death Becomes Her

Geesh, you have a birthday and all the sudden you start getting offers for cemetery plots. Thanks a lot, Mt Lebanon Cemetery. Way to make me feel older than I am.

Funny enough, about eight years ago I planned out everything I want for my funeral, including approximate costs. I’m looking at Homewood Cemetery since I love it so much, and a cherry wood casket (I like the warmth of cherry wood, even though I’ll be stone-cold dead. My death does not come cheap). I’m not totally opposed to being cremated, though, especially since the blood line is probably going to end with me. The thing with that is, people rarely walk through the Columbarium looking at names and dates and wondering about the lives those people led, whereas that’s exactly what I do when I walk through the cemetery. Maybe I could get a small plot and someone could bury my ashes and put a small headstone there, so that people could wonder about the life I led? That might be a nice compromise… and probably quite a bit cheaper without that cherry wood casket. But on the other hand, I’ll be dead, so what will I care if people wonder about my life or not? And am I really that special? Have I actually done anything worth remembering? Nope – or at least, not yet. So what’s the point, then? And who is actually going to go through with my wishes, especially if I’m all alone? Maybe I’d just be better off if I were incinerated and thrown out with the trash (the cheapest option of all). Do crematories or morgues even do that? Or does someone have to “claim” me? I’ve gone around and around with these questions and arguments for eight years, and I have yet to come up with any sort of resolution. Sooner or later, the decisions will be out of my hands.

For now, though, at least it’s nice to know that I can buy a plot by mail if need be.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Death Becomes Her

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    You started preparing for your funeral when you were 26? That’s what I call paying attention to detail and thinking many, many, many steps ahead. I’m still in denial, and I’m six years away from receiving AARP stuff in the mail.

    What you do while walking in the cemetery (wondering about the lives of deceased folks), that’s what I do when I visit the little WWII Memorial located just up from the West Penn Rec. Center in Polish Hill. Some of my relative’s names are on there, and I think, “Man, those people lived a lot of life, and I wonder if anyone even knows it or pays attention to this when they walk by?”

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Generally, I think most people don’t think about it until they have a real reason to. I’ve always liked death (that sounds weird), and it’s always fascinated me. But also, yeah, there may have been a reason to get things in order eight years ago. Actually, doing the math, nine years ago. Darn this getting older nonsense!

      I don’t know if I remember seeing the WWII memorial in Polish Hill. Maybe someday if I get back there, I’ll take a walk and look for it!

      Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Based on some of our conversations, I think I know what you’re referring to. That must have been tough to prepare for such things at a young age. But at least you don’t seem to have a fear of the great unknown, which is probably 90 percent of the battle.

        I know when I turned 28, I developed anxiety issues related to getting older (seems silly now), and my boss at the time said, “You’re way too young to be having issues with your own mortality.” But in your case, your issues were far too real.

        The WWII memorial is right in-front of the church.

        Speaking of which, you inspired me to do something today. I hadn’t visited my grandparents’ grave-site in almost two years. It’s a good thing I did. It was overrun by weeds and other such nature.

        Like

  2. maryaquino says:

    Wow, for a busy girl, you seem to have too much time to ponder your demise and ultimate disposal! 🙂 I’m all about some cremation…and yeah, the “columbarium” where my dad is interred brings thoughts of, “I wonder who this person loved…” or, “Did Joe get to retire and enjoy some free time before he passed?” so … it could happen. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

