Old Hippie

Old Hippie

Today was full of puppies and good things for once!

They weren’t my puppies, though… but I did have up-close-and-personal encounters with four pups today! On the bus this morning, a couple sat in the seat beside me and I saw some strange movement… turns out they’d smuggled at least two puggle pups onto the bus, trying to get them to the vet on the North Side. The puppies were in a big beach bag and they were struggling to break free and meet new people, but they didn’t make a peep. I pretended like I didn’t notice them because I didn’t want the people to get paranoid (it probably goes without saying, but non-service dogs aren’t allowed on the buses). However, someone else saw and couldn’t restrain themselves… so we had a puppy party in the back of the bus. I definitely saw two of them, but it looked like there were more squirming around in the bag. Puppies should ride the bus every day, because that was the happiest bus crowd I’ve ever encountered!

The third pup was my new friend that I see on the way back to my car in the afternoons. Every day, I walk past a fenced yard and every day, a super-friendly pup runs over to the fence to say hi. The past few times I’ve encountered him (or her? I feel like it’s rude to check), I’ve stopped to say hi to him and to scratch the top of his head. He’s too cute. We’re buds.

And the last pup is apparently a new longer-haired black lab mix that my neighbors’ daughter just got. His name is Axl, and he ran right up to me to say hey today. Of course I was all for the puppy greeting, but it was funny because I never talk to those neighbors (and they make no effort to talk to me). They spend part of the year down south, so I only have to deal with them in spring/summer/fall, but I dread when they come home. So I’m sure their daughter (who is probably my age, and who I’d probably get along with) loooooved that her dog ran over to befriend me, even as she was screaming, “Axl! No! Axl! Get back over here!” Muahahaha. Better put a leash on that pup, or I will steal him cause he’s a cutie.

So there was all this puppy love going on, and I had a great snack at work – blueberries that took me back to childhood with their intense flavor… basically, between all of those things and the warm fuzzies I’m getting from the volunteer stuff these days, I was grinning from ear to ear all day long. Friends saw me and asked what was wrong with me, because I just looked way too giddy. And then later in the day, I literally stopped to smell flowers and take a picture; I just couldn’t pass them up because they made me so happy. And then it dawned on me: I’ve become an old hippy. All I’m missing is the funky herb; I’ve got the same kind of attitude. When did this happen? And how??

Meh, I’m not going to worry about it. Peace and love, moonbeams. Peace and love.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

