Beer Thursday

Beer Thursday

I swear there’s a conspiracy happening between the two jobs and the volunteer stuff. It seems like everybody is trying to give me diabetes, get me drunk, or make sure I’m properly (excessively) fed. In some cases, it feels like the goal is all three.

Take today, for instance. Due to the “open house” type of thing that’s been going on all week at work, they scheduled a Beer Thursday in addition to our regular Beer Friday. Starting at 3 today, we were welcome to go to the Bistro and load up on beer and soft pretzels… so of course, we did. Since I could care less if I drink beer, I normally don’t go to the office for Beer Friday, but since I was there today, I stopped in and grabbed a couple bottles. I only drank the Traveler’s Grapefruit Shandy (the cider came home with me), but it was actually really good. So good, in fact, that I’d willingly purchase it. And the pretzels weren’t too shabby, either (for the record, I only ate two of the pretzel sticks… but loaded the plate up anyway).

Thanks to the beer and pretzels, I had a nice little afternoon… and then I went to a volunteer meeting where I was presented with even more food (but no beer). They’d ordered pizzas and salads for us, which was cool, but they also put out cookies and pastries that were left over from a meeting earlier in the day. Add to that the Kahlua Love Cake that I spent my Monday night convincing a teammate to make for the meeting, plus my leftover Prantl’s cookies, and we were all wired by the time we left.

And on my way out the door, someone shoved an empty pizza box in my one good hand and told me to fill it up with pizza and salad before leaving… so I guess now I have lunch (and probably dinner) for tomorrow. And there are STILL cookies left. How is that even possible?!

So yeah. Not a bad day. Probably shaved six years off my life, food-wise, but it was a delicious day nonetheless. And I got to spend a few hours with my little “chosen extended family” (as I nerdily proclaimed in an email to a bunch of volunteers earlier this week).

Yep, today was good. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beer Thursday

  1. maryaquino says:

    Grapefruit shandy. Hmm. Must locate and try. I like Fresca cuz it’s grapefruit. So grapefruit and alcoholic beverages sound not too shabby.

    Like

Leave a Reply

