A Decade’s Worth Of… Fun?

A Decade's Worth Of... Fun?

The weekend is officially over, and I am still officially gainfully employed at two places. I feel a little better about things right now, but every weekend seems to be touch-and-go. But for now, I’m going to save up as much as I can, while I can.

At one point in the day, I was filling out our consumption sheet for liquor and I noticed the date. For some reason, 5/22 sounded really familiar. It wasn’t until I made it home and was soaking in the bathtub that I figured it out – 5/22/2006 was my first day of full-time work in Pittsburgh! Before then, I’d worked three jobs at once – 36 hours a week in a chiropractor’s office, 35+ hours a week at Sheetz, and probably another 30+ hours at a women’s fitness center (like Curves, but not). Needless to say, I was thrilled when I was offered my first full-time job – I could work one job instead of many! Oh, how naive and stupid I was… having one job lasted all of 2 months before I was waiting tables in the evenings and on weekends. And now here I am, 10 years later and still working two jobs – just like ten years ago, one in an office and one in a restaurant-type of place.

The more things change, the more things stay the same.

(If you’re wondering, the picture shows our “signature drink” for the evening. It was… not good (we just followed the recipe the customers gave us). Blech!)

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A Decade’s Worth Of… Fun?

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    Thats funny. 5-22 has always held significance for me too. On that day 18 years ago I wandered into Pitt’s human resources dept and saw a posting for a surgical research position. I applied and my life soon changed forever. It was the first “adult” job and the first time in my life I felt like a professional.

    I was thinking about that yesterday while decompressing over the cold shoulder im now getting at work.

    Anyway never knew you worked so many jobs. Here’s to making it through the weekend.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Yep, ever since I started college, I’ve worked at least two jobs almost continuously. In college it was 2 restaurant jobs and then Sam Goody + the Pitt library, and after college it was the three mentioned in the post and then full-time jobs + serving or bartending. The only break was grad school in Paris – I was an English tutor there, but it was all under the table… I tried to get a second job while there, but I wasn’t able to with my student visa.

      One good thing about this is that no one can in good conscience say that I’m not a hard worker…

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Nope and nobody can say you’re not setting yourself up for a nice future.

        Ps,

        Want to do my landscaping? šŸ™‚

        Like

      • Lindsay says:

        Ha! No thanks. I just had to cut my grass during lunch. Weed-wacking is on deck for after work/before volunteering. I hate yard work.

        Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        You and me both. For me, it’s mainly the bees. I do about one bee-dance during every lawn-cutting session.

        Like

  2. maryaquino says:

    Looks like flat beer with limes in it.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      That probably would have tasted better. It was 1 part bourbon, 1 part gin, and a bunch of lime juice. We were supposed to mix it with sparkling water. We try every batch of specialty drink before we open our doors (so we know we’re not giving out swill… and, you know, “quality control”), but we both took a sip of this and did a tv-worthy spit across the room. It was pretty bad. Not even Sprite could save it (Sprite can usually salvage any gross drink).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

