She’s A Genius

She's A Genius

Every week for Free Lunch Wednesday, I do my little routine – instead of grabbing just one or two plates, I’ll grab three so that I can use one as a little “tray.” Normally I fill the bottom plate with messy food, put the second plate on top, and then stack the third plate face-up on top of that. It makes for a pretty great system, and my food doesn’t get soggy and I don’t drop plates on the way back down to my desk. (If you’re thinking ‘make a second trip, lazy bones,’ keep in mind that we wait about 20 mins in line sometimes and making a second trip just so marinara doesn’t get mixed in with my salad isn’t always feasible. Some of us have work to do!) Anyway, nearly every week on my way back to the stairs, I weave my way past the food line with my plate-tray and invariably at least one person will remark, “That’s genius!”

Maybe I’ve spent too much time in the restaurant industry over the past 18 years (!!), but this just seems to me like a common-sense way to transport food. I think I started doing it the second week we had free lunches, so every week for the past three years I’ve heard the same exclamations over and over again. Sometimes multiple times on my way back to my desk. Is it really that innovative? I don’t think so. But I feel like I need to give a company-wide tutorial or something.

Speaking of tutorials, I’ve been tapped to help create company-wide training videos that will be available to all of our customers. When my boss discussed it with me today, he cited, “Your English is good.” This obviously means he’s read neither this blog nor my Red Cross emails (thank goodness, on both accounts). Maybe in my next email to him, I’ll misspell my name and see if I can get out of it.

S0. Between the plate-trays and my “masterful” grasp of the English language, I have a lot going for me these days. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to She’s A Genius

  1. maryaquino says:

    Hit me up if you need tips on making training videos. It’s what I do for a living. I’m no genius (see what I did there?) but I know a little.

    18 yrs in the restaurant industry? What, did you start when you were 5?

    Like

Leave a Reply

