Hedging My Bets

Hedging My Bets

I busted my tail, all. day. long.

First I woke up early (to a text picture of chubby little Tank) and got the day started. I had some errands to run, including some shopping (for groceries and for yard stuff). By 9:30 or so, I was back home and started doing my outside “chores.”

Last night I bought a few herb plants, mainly because I needed to buy mint for a recipe, and I figured I’d just buy a plant instead of mint that will spoil quickly in the fridge… But then Home Depot had the herbs on sale, so I ended up with sweet mint, sweet basil, purple basil, and rosemary. That’s cool, except I didn’t have any potting soil at home, so I had to go buy some today. So the first thing I did when I got home was transplant my new herb garden – mainly because that was a quiet thing to do at 9:30.

After the herbs were secure in their new home, I moved on to my second chore – hedges. My hedges and small trees around the property seem to have grown out of control overnight, so something needed to be done with them. Between cutting, raking, and scooping the trimmings into trash cans, I wasted about two hours. Have I mentioned how much I love owning a home? Yeah. No.

At that point, I was pooped and it was only noon. I’d completely filled up two trash cans with trimmings (please ignore the bird poop on the trash can lid), and I was covered in sweat, dirt, leaves, and bugs. I grabbed a quick shower and then lounged on the couch for an hour before I had to go to work – we had an earlier than usual start time today. And when I got to work, it was straight mayhem for over 8 hours. Also, I was once again covered in sweat and dirt (and booze… but not mine) when I returned home.

So that’s where I am now – sweaty, dirty, and sitting in an 86-degree house (I think I’ll be turning on the AC tonight). BUT, on the plus side, my hedges are now trimmed (except for the parts I can’t reach), I feel like I had a full-day workout today, I’m off from everything for the next 24 hours (almost exactly 24), and I have a nice big wad of cash in my pocket.

I think I’ll celebrate by enjoying a glass of wine in the bathtub. Let’s hope I don’t fall asleep in there… 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hedging My Bets

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    If you need any help with yard work, well I have plenty of time on my hands. In your case, I’ll work for hugs. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

