Five Things Friday: 06/03/16 Edition

I have a long, complicated history with doctors. It started when I was in college and went to the Pitt Student Health center for pinkeye. I went in with pinkeye and walked out with appointments for a neurologist, a nephrologist, MRIs, CT scans, and a ton of bloodwork. The “fun” has been non-stop since then… so we’re going on 15 years of paranoia and fear of going to the doctor simply because every time I go for one issue, I walk out with like three other issues that are way more serious than the original. The past couple years, I’ve gone into my regular check-ups feeling great and walked out terrified, crying, or both. So I kind of stopped going. The way I see it is, if I feel fine and I’m taking my life-sustaining medication every day, I shouldn’t have to deal with appointments. Doctors, however, view things differently. So when I tried to refill my prescription late last week, I received a notice from Aetna that I’d have to contact my doctors for updated prescriptions… and when I tried to do that, I was told that they wouldn’t refill them anymore unless I came in for a check-up. I’m not exactly sure how they can justify not refilling a prescription that has been deemed life-sustaining, but whatever.

So now I have two appointments over the next two weeks, and two more appointments for blood-work before I see the doctors. As such, I’m going ultra-healthy for the next couple weeks, just as a sort of “insurance” policy. In reality, I know that eating oatmeal every morning, cutting down on protein for the next couple weeks, and bulking up on antioxidants won’t do a darn thing (not in the short-term), but at least it makes me feel like I’m being proactive about the situation. Even so, I fully expect that I’m going to leave one (if not both) of the appointments feeling completely dejected and with the impression that I’m going to die within the next six months (nevermind the fact that I feel amazing). Also, since it’s been so long, I have a feeling that I’m going to be sent in for some follow-up/maintenance scans and procedures. I hope I’m wrong, but history says I’m right. Ugh.

Anyway, moving on to some good things…

  1. Currently Reading: Still working on Lust & Wonder, but only because I’ve been extra-tired this past week due to working late into the night, and I haven’t spent much time reading before bed.
  2. Currently Eating: Oatmeal, smoothies, blueberries, watermelon, strawberries, blackberries, kale, ginger, broccoli, walnuts, salmon, green tea, and basically everything healthy that I can get my hands on. I generally eat these things on a regular basis, but mixed with other foods, like chicken… or cake. Chicken and cake time will come back to me in a few weeks. I already can’t wait.
  3. Currently Craving: A nice, juicy cheeseburger. I’d expected that my parents would have burgers at the picnic on Sunday, but they switched things up this year. Instead of making burgers, they bought pulled pork from someone my dad works with. Normally I’d be over the moon at this change in plans, but I had been looking forward to a burger for weeks. And now I’m going to need to wait a few weeks before I can have one (I’ve learned that eating red meat a couple days before bloodwork jacks up my test results something royal). Annoying.

    I’ve also been craving this one particular bottle of seltzer water that’s been in my fridge for a few weeks. I put it in the fridge the night before my last volleyball game, thinking I’d open it up when I got home that night… but then my hand got screwed up, and I wasn’t able to open the bottle. I tried again last night, and I still can’t open it. Something tells me that my hand is not quite healed if I can’t even twist open a bottle of water… I also can’t open the spool for my weed-wacker string, so only part of the perimeter hill has been cleaned up. This might become a legitimate problem. But back to the craving… the grapefruit seltzer is the only thing I want to drink right now, and I’m 100% certain it’s because I’m not able to have it. Just like the burger.

  4. Currently Loving: I don’t have any links today – blame work. I’ve been working intermittently until 10:30 most nights this week, trying to get something done for a project that’s going “Live” on Monday, so I feel like I’ve had no free time this week. Plus, I’ve literally been on-call every single night this week, so in addition to working late, I’ve been on edge wondering if and when I’d get a disaster call. Aside from Monday, it’s been a quiet week disaster-wise, but I’d rather get called out than have to work more…

    The pups got to go swimming last weekend, and then they got baths before the picnic, so they were nice and soft. They got a ton of loving at the picnic… you’d think they were the unofficial mayors of Butler. Here’s a picture of them in the lake, still attached to their long leashes… looks like they wanted to go make friends with ducks. What a couple goobers. 🙂
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/lindschv/26828508624/in/dateposted-public/

  5. Currently Anticipating: I still haven’t had any disaster calls where I’m the Lead, despite being on-call all week, so I’m hopeful that we’ll have a chance to go out this weekend. Aside from 12 hours on Saturday to accommodate a wedding, I’m on call for the entire freaking weekend – days, evenings, and overnights. I’m excited about it.

    Also on the volunteer front, I’ve inadvertently recruited two friends this past week. I hope at least one of them, if not both, join the disaster team and we get to work together. I’m attending a volunteer orientation session next week so that I can get up-to-speed and be able to potentially lead the next one in July… so if my friends become part of our team, I might get to lead their orientation. Should be interesting! Even if they don’t join the team, I’m excited to start leading orientations… considering the volunteer stuff is all I seem to talk about to anyone who is too polite to ignore me, I look forward to having a captive audience that will be stuck listening to me gush about the process for two hours. 🙂

    I narrowly avoided a work trip to Omaha this coming week, so I’m anticipating sleeping in my own bed and keeping up my volunteer schedule when I should otherwise be in a hotel. It’s the little things. 🙂

Have a great weekend, everyone!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Five Things Friday: 06/03/16 Edition

  1. Nicole says:

    We sympathize as we feel the same with doctors. So yes, doctor visits are scary and stressful. Good luck w/it all.

    Like

  2. Nothing Personal says:

    I’ve been scared of the doctor since my late 20s. As for the volunteer stuff, DAT was one of the things I applied for. I was intimidated by it at first, but I kept looking at all the positions, and it was the one that seemed like the most challenging, and the one where I could most make a true difference.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      YAY!!! I had no idea what I was getting into when I signed up for it – I thought it would be like I saw on TV after Hurricane Katrina… so, like, shelter work. While I *am* trained on that stuff now, it’s not what our team does (not regularly, anyway). It will feel intimidating until you go out on your first few calls… and then it’ll just be awesome (hopefully… though your experience could certainly be different). And don’t worry – we’ll never set you loose on your own unless you’re ready. You’ll *always* have someone else with you on a call (even if you’re a Team Lead, or “TL”), and you’re supposed to just observe for the first one (though my experience was a little different). Signing up for your first on-call shift will be the hardest part of the whole thing, trust me (it’s that fear of the unknown). After that, it’s smooth sailing. 🙂

      Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        I believe I even used the word “intimidating” when the person called me the other day. But my gut just kept pointing me in that direction, and now with your comment, I feel even more at ease with my decision. I’m sure it will seem overwhelming at first, but I can’t imagine this being anything but a positive experience.

        Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        PS, the application said they require 3-6 on-call shifts every month. How many do you take each month? If I went by sight, I’d say you’re on call like 713 hours a month. But then, you drink that matcha tea, so…..:)

        Like

      • Lindsay says:

        The 3-6 shifts is just a recommendation; there are some people who are only on the schedule for one 6-hr shift a month. I, on the other hand, am an anomaly. I’m on the schedule for I think 35 shifts in June… I might have to give one or two up for work stuff, but ideally, I’d like to take on more. At the same time, though, I feel like I need to let other people get in there and be on-call instead of me. 😉

        Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Wow, so you’re on-call for about eight total days in June, if you go by hours in the day. No wonder your reputation precedes you. They probably call you “on-call girl.” 🙂 Kudos to you. I wish I had that kind of ambition.

        Thanks for the info.

        Like

      • Lindsay says:

        Well geesh, when you put it that way, it really doesn’t sound like much! Eight days is nothing!

        Like

      • Nothing Personal says:

        Well, I didn’t want to say anything……..;)

        Like

  3. maryaquino says:

    Hate.Doctors. Period. Gets worse as you age. Believe me. Good luck……

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Oh, the doctors have told me it’s going to get worse. And I know specifically how it’s going to get worse… they really know how to make a girl look forward to her future.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

