Storm Clouds Rolling In

Storm Clouds Rolling In

This is shaping up to be a pretty crazy week, especially considering I’m not traveling for work like I was supposed to. Instead of being onsite today, I woke up early (or really, I didn’t sleep much at all – I was still awake at 4 and I was moving at 6) and headed to Quest to get bloodwork done… except I was there too early and I had to wait for a half hour before I could get jabbed with needles. The blood transaction went smoothly otherwise, and I ended up at work about a half hour earlier than usual. This was good because I had an insane day ahead of me.

I was supposed to demo some functionality at 10, but the two systems I was working in weren’t speaking to each other, so I had to pull in my boss to try to get things to work. We got a lot of things fixed, but it wasn’t perfect. Still, I soldiered on with the demo, and ended up getting a really nice email from my customer contact telling me that it was awesome and super-helpful. It’s funny how I seem to be really good at the things that I really hate doing – recording training sessions, leading demos… it’s a blessing and a curse.

After the demo, I had to spend the rest of my day on the customer kickoff call since I couldn’t be there in person. It actually went pretty well, and I got to do some multi-tasking for part of it. By far, my favorite part of the day was trying to set up a friend on a date. Yes, that was part of my multi-tasking. As I told another friend, this whole caring about other people thing is foreign to me, but it’s overtaking my life. Like, I wanted nothing more today than for my friend to go on a date with this guy. It sounds like they’d have a TON to talk about, and I really, totally, completely want her to be happy. I care more about her happiness than my own. I don’t know what’s happening to me. I can’t handle it. Where did selfish only-child Lindsay go to? Sigh.

Anyway, after work, I headed to the Wyndham to meet up with my bartending job friends for a tailgate party before the Pirates vs Mets game. We had a good time and ate some good food – last year we had a legit tailgate party in a parking lot, but I liked this one (in the hotel’s ballroom) better. It was so much less crowded this year (thanks to all the extra room), plus seating, air conditioning, and shelter from the rain. 10 out of 10, would attend again. 🙂

Eventually we made our way over to PNC Park and snagged some sweet giveaway hats from the Treasure Chest and then found our seats. But by the time we got to the seats, the skies looked ominous. And yes, she who has been begging for rain for an entire week (me) forgot her rain jacket in the car this morning. Within about 3 minutes of sitting down, we saw the grounds crew roll out the tarp to cover the infield. About 2 minutes after that, the rain started. At first, it was a steady drizzle, and my friends ran for cover. Technically, our seats were covered, but I think they were really just looking for an excuse to go drink more. I stayed in my seat reading the game program and Facebook on my phone, and then looked over to see a friend/former coworker in the next row over. We got to talking, and before I knew it, about 20 minutes had passed. Then it started to RAIN. Like, sideways rain, combined with lightning and thunder. Even though the seats were covered, we still got soaked. I hunkered down until it started to let up, and then made my way to the T station and back across the river. I heard a stadium employee telling someone that they could delay the game for 3 hours before calling it… I had been there for one hour, and there was lightning in the near distance. No way was the game happening tonight.

So I made it back home safe and sound. And then to compensate for my stupidity, I finally got to take my rain jacket out for a spin. The weighted vest fits perfectly underneath it, so I got to work off all the tailgate food I’d just consumed a few hours earlier. 🙂

I wish I could’ve gotten to watch the game, but I think I made the most of the night without it. Plus, now I get to go to a makeup game (theoretically, depending on when it’s scheduled). The only thing that could have made the night better is if I could’ve gotten called out to a fire.

Ah well, there’s always tomorrow! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Storm Clouds Rolling In

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    **ha** selfish only child….snort….you funny.

    Like

Leave a Reply

