Playing Doctor

Playing Doctor

Dreaded doctor appointment 1 of 2 is now in the books, and somehow it went both better and worse than expected.

Better because I wasn’t lectured about canceling my previous appointments (though I will most definitely be lectured at next week’s appointment), and because I sort of got a reverse diagnosis from what I got 9 years ago. This means that the all-important life-sustaining medication (not exaggerating – I will literally die without it) is going to be adjusted, and I can maybe stop being such a hot mess of irritability all the time. Before I went today, I checked my lab results online, and I immediately knew what the doctor was going to say – I’ve had enough bloodwork done over the years to tell you allllll about thyroids and kidneys and what each lab test can tell you about them. Even though I knew what the diagnosis would be, I’m not actually a doctor and I can’t prescribe medicine, so I suppose the visit was sort-of necessary.

The visit was worse than expected because I definitely have to get updated full-body scans and ultrasounds over the next couple months (which I kind of expected, but hoped I wouldn’t need), and I might have to follow a special low-iodine diet for a few weeks (which sounds like nothing, but which is horrendous by the end of it). There’s a small chance I might be able to be injected with Chinese hamster ovary cells again in lieu of the low-iodine diet, but that’s dependent upon insurance. For those of you who are not intimately familiar with strange medical treatments involving very specific ovarian cells, well, I don’t really feel like spelling things out… so Google it (hint: it has nothing to do with human ovaries). This ties in with legitimate bad/annoying news, which will be confirmed or denied with the upcoming scans… but if my doctor is to be believed, it’s not looking good.

SO! The plus side of this is that I might get some time off from work, depending on what insurance will cover and what the outcome of everything is. And, there’s the possibility for surgery. We all know I love me some surgery, especially when they give me morphine in the hospital. The idea of just completely checking out for a couple days and potentially being quarantined for weeks afterward is enough to make me almost wish for the worst. I’m not that lucky, though.

Anyway, I’m glad one of the two appointments is done, but now I’m even more nervous about the second one coming up next week. That’s the one that always upsets me and either makes me mad or makes me cry – oftentimes both. Considering my bloodwork, there shouldn’t be any out of the ordinary news at that appointment, but I remember something the doc said last time about “next time” and I’m very much not looking forward to it. But cheers, I have an entire week to obsess over it.

Somebody come sedate me for a week, okay?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Playing Doctor

  1. Amy says:

    I hope this doesn’t sound super creepy (because it’s not intended to be!) but if you need someone to go along with you to doctor’s appointments or run errands for you or anything, I’d be happy to help. I know I’m a complete stranger but i’m not a stranger to being frightened sitting in a doctor’s office alone. From following your blog, I can tell you’re in my general P’burgh area. So, your loyal blog readers have your back!

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Oh, wow, you are way too nice! (And no, not creepy!)
      Thank you so much. I’ll be totally fine – I’ve dealt with this whole process many times over the past 9 years. I’m not scared so much as annoyed – for someone who feels perfectly fine (other than being irritable and not able to sleep sometimes), it’s discouraging to do everything right and still have to deal with scans, radioactivity, and surgeries.
      But, I can handle being annoyed. I do appreciate the offer, though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

