Smug Alert

Smug Alert

This evening, I finally had a chance to use some of my first aid training that I learned back in April! Honestly, it wasn’t anything super-exciting, but I was feeling pretty smug about it afterwards.

On my way to the ATM before going to the gym, I saw a college-aged girl walking toward me with a large gash on her knee. In fact, the gash looked startlingly similar to what I did to myself a few years ago while running. (<– Warning: Blood.) She was walking mostly fine, but she looked like she was in pain. I grimaced and tried to catch her eye to see if she needed help, but then she started waving at friends behind me, so I figured she was okay.

A few minutes later, I was almost to the gym when I heard screaming/crying from across the street. The poor girl was hysterical and her friends were just straight-up pouring peroxide on her leg. We all know how much that hurts. I stopped and asked if they needed help, and they said no; the friends had bought some supplies from the Rite Aid across the street. I started to walk away, but then what they’d bought registered with me – they’d bought wrap tape and band-aids, thinking they’d either wrap her knee up or cover her in bandages. I don’t think they realized the wrap was adhesive, and that she wouldn’t be able to walk very well if her entire knee was wrapped; I also don’t think they realized the bandages were way too small for the size of the wound. So I just went straight to my car, found the first aid kit that’s been in my trunk for years, and grabbed some supplies. Based on the size of the gash, I knew I’d need to bring gauze pads instead of bandages; tape, and first aid ointment.

I rushed back to where they were (my gym and swim bags bumping against me the entire time), and the girl was still kind of hysterical. One friend had gone back to Rite Aid to get more supplies, but the other was still with her. I explained why they shouldn’t use what they’d bought, and was able to get the poor girl patched up. It was kind of awesome, because I got to explain what I was doing while I was doing it, and I felt like I was in control of the situation. By the time I left, the girl had calmed down a ton; she was able to talk again and she’d stopped crying. I was pretty excited about it, because I’ve been in soooo many situations where I’ve gotten hurt in public and no one has stopped to help me – it felt great to change that cycle. It also felt good because I went into mom-mode, which I didn’t think was a thing I had in me. It was weird and awesome, all at the same time.

So yeah, I felt pretty good about myself by the time I finally got to the gym. So good, in fact, that I treated myself to some fresh blueberry soft-serve from Page Dairy Mart – my first trip of the season.

Nights like tonight really make me realize that I’m completely in the wrong line of work. 🙂

 

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smug Alert

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. Nothing Personal says:

    That is one tasty looking cone (that’s what she said).

    Anyway, awesome and thorough first-aid story. When we play sand volleyball, I’m going to feel safe in the knowledge that I can throw myself around the entire park, knowing there will be someone on hand who can handle any injury that I’m sure to sustain. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

