Dead Wood

Dead Wood

I got my lumberjack on today and ripped out a tree (a smallish one) almost entirely with my bare hands. I feel totally hardcore right now. 🙂

The tree was dead, and only about the width of my calf, so it wasn’t like it was a superhuman feat of strength… but still, it wasn’t easy. I started off intending to remove some of the dead branches that hit my face when I cut grass, but then I just decided to keep going. Before long, the easy stuff was destroyed and all that remained was the stump/root. The large(ish) piece in the center-right was the piece that gave me the most trouble – despite the fact that it’s only about half of the root, it was a pain. I managed to get half of the root out without much of a problem, but that one piece… well, I couldn’t do it on my own. So I grabbed a shovel (the closest thing to an ax that I own) and went to town trying to dig it out and chopping it to weaken it. After a few minutes of vigorous stabbing, it was loose enough for me to grab onto and tug free. By the end of it, I’d filled up one full trash can (the one with a lid on it), plus most of another.

I normally hate doing anything homeowner-ish but hot diggity, stabbing, chopping, digging, and tugging for about 45 minutes was the most physically satisfying thing I’ve done in a long time. Almost makes me wish I had another dead tree I could go after tomorrow… almost. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

