Celebrate We Will

Celebrate We Will

Happy National Bourbon Day!

I really had no idea that was even a thing until today, but I carpe’d the diem and decided to celebrate around 1pm with a bourbon & soda with a few splashes of orange bitters and some basil simple syrup. I had a few additional reasons to celebrate that weren’t tied to an obscure “holiday.”

First, it was an incredible day outside today. The past couple days, actually, have been nearly perfect. Personally, I’d like them to be a little warmer, but I know I’m in the minority. Still, the weather was amazing, and it begged to be enjoyed. So I did. 🙂

Another thing I celebrated was having an entire hour free in the middle of the day today. I was supposed to demo something in the morning, but it seems like everyone forgot about it, so we ended our meeting without the demo. No skin off my back, and that meant that we ended the nearly-continuous 7-days-long meeting early. Huzzah!

Perhaps the biggest and best reason to celebrate was the fact that I got my dreaded doctor’s appointment out of the way early this morning. The doctor still brought up the usual talking points that I hate so much, but we ended on a positive note for the first time in… ever. Normally we end the appointment with him telling me I need to watch this and that, and that this is serious and there’s no hope to reverse the damage that’s been done; all I can do is try to prevent further damage, etc… Today was different, though. The change was so slight and inconspicuous – anyone overhearing the conversation wouldn’t think twice about it – but today, the doctor used the word “mild” to describe the damage. Every single other time we’ve met, he’s called it “moderate,” but today it was downgraded to “mild.” This is HUGE. Not only is it a different (better) prognosis, but I totally proved him wrong after all these years. There was also very little doom-and-gloom at this appointment – he only briefly mentioned things that could kill me, and in the type of manner that promotional advertisements mention their terms and conditions. So YAY! I’m far from cured (and really, I don’t think that will ever happen), but it’s great to know that you really can reverse some damage to your body. It’s also fantastic that the surgery that he mentioned last time wasn’t even discussed today. I love surgery, and this one would only mean a couple days off from work, but my wallet appreciates that it won’t need to happen this year… especially if I need to have any further surgery with the other doctor that I saw last week.

Okay, that’s enough of the TMI… the point is, today was kind of a great day, and I’m glad I got to take a few minutes in the middle of the day to relax in the sun and celebrate it. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

