Because It’s The Cup

Because It's The Cup

We Pittsburghers are known (at least locally) for throwing parades for everything. We have parades for Soup Contests, parades for “furries” invading the city, and parades for your typical run-of-the-mill holidays. But every now and then we get to throw a parade for when one of our amazing sports teams wins a national championship, and those parades are the best.

Today was such an occasion. The Pens brought the Stanley Cup back to Pittsburgh, so to show our appreciation and to celebrate them, we threw the largest sports parade in Pittsburgh history today. News outlets reported over 400,000 people along the two-street parade route, and I’m happy to say my coworkers and I were part of that crowd. We left work at around 11 for the projected 11:30 start time, and the streets were insane when we got near the Blvd of the Allies. Instead of wading through the mass of humanity, we took side streets to get to the Blvd and Smithfield and went to the top of the parking garage that sits on the corner. Even the top floor of the garage was jam-packed, but at least we were only a few people deep – those on the street were upwards of 9 rows deep. We found some people who were sitting on the parking garage ledge (with a railing) and stood behind them. I had to do some acrobatics to get pictures, but I got them.

I was behind with work the rest of the day, but it was absolutely worth it. It’s such a cool feeling to see your entire city rally around a team, especially when the team is made up of such stand-up guys as our Penguins. I’m so glad that I took the time out of my day to go; it was probably the best use of an hour and a half that I could’ve hoped for.

Now if only we could see my beloved Pirates win the World Series and so we could throw them a parade, I’d be a very happy girl. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Because It’s The Cup

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

