Five Things Friday: 06/17/16 Edition

AKA Give. Me. All. The. Coffee.

Well I had an interesting night not long after I pushed Publish on yesterday’s post. I was on the volunteer schedule until midnight, but when I hadn’t gotten any calls by 10:45 or so, I got ready for bed. I hopped into bed at almost 11 on the dot and had just turned out the light when about 30 seconds later, I received a call from our dispatch office. It was for a situation I hadn’t encountered before, so I had to talk to our Staff on Duty for advice. As soon as I got what I needed and started to call the team, I got another call from dispatch. So two calls within 15 minutes of each other. I wasn’t totally surprised; there were some intense storms happening.

I got all my gear on and headed to the office to meet my team, paranoid that I’d get another call while I was driving. Luckily, I didn’t, but I did end up becoming good friends with the dispatcher last night nonetheless. So I met my team and we handled the first event without a problem. By this point, it was nearly 1 am. One of the people I was with was on the schedule overnight; the other person was not (neither was I). As we were leaving the first location to head to the second (on the other side of town), the person that was on overnight got a call from that team leader letting her know about another incident. We determined we’d go to our second incident and then we’d meet the other leader at the office and those of us that were off the schedule at midnight would leave; the other leader would take over.

So we got to the second location and took care of business. Meanwhile, the volunteer on the schedule overnight got more calls from the other leader. Apparently there were three other incidents total. So the other leader sent out a message to the team asking for additional volunteers. I agreed to stay out with my existing team (minus the one person who was off the schedule at midnight – we dropped him off). While we were out attending to one of the incidents, the other leader would handle the other two with a separate team. This sounded great, until we found out that one of the incidents was going to wait until morning, and then the other leader couldn’t get in touch with the people at the third incident. We were already ready to go on our extra assignment, so we just went out and told the other leader to stay home.

So within the span of 5 hours, we got 5 calls and responded to 3 of them. In terms of timing, we did great. And my team did great, especially the newer volunteer who was on both the Evening and Overnight schedule – she did awesome. The entire time we were out, the Staff on Duty person and the other team leader were in near-constant contact with us via text and phone calls, so it felt like we were a mobile command unit or something. It was kind of fun. 🙂

Eventually, we finished up at around 4am and then had to do some paperwork and make a couple calls back to dispatch (thus why I became good friends with the dispatcher last night). I think we left at around 4:15 or so, and I got home at around 4:30. By the time I got out of the shower and settled down, it was after 5. Thank goodness for the ability to work from home, and for the rare occasion when I don’t have an early morning meeting.

So I need ALL the coffee today. I’m already on cup #2, and considering a third. I have a strange feeling about this evening’s shift; I feel like it’s going to be another long one (maybe I’m wrong!), and I’m on the schedule from 6pm until noon tomorrow. Considering everything that happened within 5 hours last night/this morning, I’m curious to see what we can get into over the span of 18 hours if my hunch is correct. I’m told the weather will cooperate with us tonight, so it’s very possible my strange feeling is due to leftover anxiety from last night. 🙂

Anyway, onto the main attraction!

  1. Currently Reading: I finished The 6:41 to Paris on Saturday morning, and moved on to another library find, You May Also Like: Taste in an Age of Endless Choice. Thanks to a job in my previous life, I have a strange fascination with marketing, and I miss having to think about things like that. This book is scratching my brain itch for stimulating, data-driven reading. I really like it so far, and although it feels like I’m crawling through it (tall pages, small print), I’m actually cruising through it at a decent clip. I think I’m just under halfway through, and I’m liking it more and more the further I get.
  2. Currently Eating: All. Of. The. COFFEE. And since I was running around like a chicken with its head cut off for the first 5 hours of the day, when my body is accustomed to sleeping (or at least trying to sleep), I was starving this morning. Egg white sandwich on rye with pesto and balsamic to the rescue. Egg whites have never tasted so good.

    For lunch, I have pizza and salad left over from yesterday’s volunteer meeting (due to the weather, half of the people didn’t show and we had a ton of food left over). I love days where I get to have pizza for lunch. 🙂

  3. Currently Craving: If I’m being honest, I’m craving another breakfast sandwich. I’m still hungry. Darn it, lack of sleep, stop throwing me off!
    I started thinking about burgers again yesterday, so Burgatory sounds awesome right about now. I don’t think I’ll get to go there this weekend, but it sure would be great if I ended up there somehow.
  4. Currently Loving: I missed my post-volunteering high the past couple weeks. I’m loving the fact that we had such an exciting night and that we handled it like total champs. Part of me is hoping for more excitement tonight, with a totally different team… but I’d prefer the excitement to happen within regular waking hours this time. 🙂

    I’m also loving the fact that I did a quick check with management at my second job, and it turns out that we have a couple weekends off after next weekend. Right now it’s in the ‘wishful thinking’ stages, but I’m considering maybe taking some vacation time from my full-time job and going on a trip, likely by myself. My top destination contender right now is, oddly enough, Missouri. I’ve never been there, and I’ve been mapping out a trip to St. Louis, then taking a train to Kansas City, MO, and then comparing and contrasting the BBQ options between Kansas City, MO and Kansas City, KS. The more I read up on it all, the more I want to go… but what a strange vacation destination (in my mind). Alternatively, given the hot weather and the advice from others to not go South in the summer (like New Orleans, Florida, or Texas), I’ve been kicking around Vancouver and some other Canadian cities. Or, since I had such a great time in Philly when I went by myself last year, that might be a fun drive-able trip. We’ll see. Right now, nothing is planned (not even dates), and I’m really trying to use up any excess money on my mortgage, but I desperately feel like I need a break. Plus, I have almost five full weeks of vacation to use by the end of the year, and we’re already halfway through. Even my boss has told me to get out of town for a little while. Oops.

  5. Currently Anticipating: Possibly skipping town for a week or so, or at least just not working for a few days. 🙂

    I’m looking forward to a busy volunteer weekend, with the exception of Saturday night (due to work). There are a lot of different people on the schedule this weekend; I think this is the most variety I’ve seen. Usually people stick to a regular schedule and don’t deviate from it, and this weekend it seems to be different. I’m excited to possibly work with some people I don’t normally get to work with!

    And on a more immediate note, I’m anticipating that moment when I get to fall into bed tonight, assuming we’re not out on calls all night. 🙂

Hope everyone has a good weekend, and that it’s not too crazy!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Five Things Friday: 06/17/16 Edition

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

