The Most Important Meal Of The Day

The Most Important Meal Of The Day

I did a little experimenting today, and my hypothesis was proven to be correct.

The past few weeks, I’ve been getting dizzy after just a few laps in the pool. I’ve tried drinking more water, which temporarily helps a little, but by the end of my workout, I need to stand still in the pool and concentrate on a nearby focal point to get the dizziness to clear. The days I try to escape without doing that, I chicken out on the first rung of the ladder, afraid that I’ll fall over and hit my head on the side and then have to go to the hospital wearing only a wet swimsuit… the visualization is enough to make me do my little focusing routine.

So today, I decided to experiment with eating a big breakfast to see if it would help later in the day when I hit the pool. I had some of my leftovers from yesterday’s breakfast, plus some egg whites with nutritional yeast (the picture is pre-ketchup and hot sauce), plus some strong coffee. I went about my day as usual, and then hit the gym.

I felt great through my treadmill workout, but the real test was going to be in the pool. The first few laps were hard to get into; I couldn’t get my rhythm down. But while I usually start to feel a little lightheaded around lap 10, I felt fine today. In fact, once I got past the first five minutes or so, I felt great. It wasn’t until around lap 44 that I started to get a little dizzy. So I guess the result is that the bigger breakfast wasn’t the perfect solution, but it resulted in a definite improvement.

There may have been other factors at play, obviously (sleep being one of them, I bet), but from now on I’m going to try to remember to eat more during the day on swim days. Hopefully that’ll prevent me from going to the hospital in a wet swimsuit. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Most Important Meal Of The Day

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    A big breakfast might be a great idea. When I was about 33/34, I lost a bunch of weight (about 25 pounds in three months). I remember being super dizzy when, for example, I would stand up after kneeling down. This happened quite a bit. And my blood pressure was fairly low during this time. I adjusted my calorie-intake, and that seemed to help.

    Like

Leave a Reply

