Mojitos And Tacos And Tanks (Oh My!)

Mojitos And Tacos And Tanks (Oh My!)

We had quite the fun day today!

I got to my parents’ house a little after noon (I was on-call until noon, but I risked leaving early and lucked out) and had some fun playing with Taco and Tank before my dad got home. Once he got home, we headed to the new coffeeshop in town for a snack before heading back home for pre-picnic drinks. Since my mint plant is growing out of control, I brought fixins for mojitos. Since my mom and I weren’t driving, we decided to tailgate the picnic with frozen mojitos. They were actually quite good (I’m always surprised when I make something good), and we enjoyed them with some good company. Tank was on a little time-out while we were drinking them, so Taco was hanging with us on the back porch. Despite appearances, he was not partaking in the mojitos. ๐Ÿ™‚

We had a good time at the picnic and got to catch up with some family and friends. The family throwing the picnic one-upped my dad’s Memorial Day picnic by grilling steaks for everyone, along with their usual spread of fried chicken, burgers, hot dogs, and the normal picnic fare. To say we all ate way too much is an understatement, but it was worth it – everything was delicious.

After we left the picnic, my dad gave me a choice – we could either go get ice cream at a place they’ve been talking up for a couple months, or we could go to a nearby carnival. Since there was no way I could stuff ice cream in my pie hole so soon after wobbling away from the picnic, I chose the carnival. We may have snuck in… but I’m not sure since I didn’t see anyplace to pay to get in. It was probably the strangest carnival I’d ever been to,ย but I’ll leave it at that. My dad had some descriptive words about it, but they’re not words I’d ever publish. ๐Ÿ˜‰

As we left, one side of the sky was dark and the other looked like this:

And then on the drive back to the house, my dad pulled over on the highway so my mom and I could snap pictures of the gorgeousness.

Obviously, my pictures don’t do it justice, but it was amazing enough to stop all three of us in our tracks.

I got to play with the pups for a little while longer before heading back to Pittsburgh, and I already miss them.

What a great day, though. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mojitos And Tacos And Tanks (Oh My!)

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    Great photography. Looks like something from a postcard.

    I learned how to make a mojito last year. It was pretty good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

