Here Comes The Boom

Here Comes The Boom

I guess I’ve never stayed home for the 4th of July before, because if I had, I wouldn’t have been so surprised tonight. I know I had to spend a few years at the country club for their festivities, a few times I went back to my parents’ house, one year I went to Monroeville, another year I went to the North Shore, and last year I was stuck in the UPMC Presby ER, so I guess I really haven’t stayed home. Even tonight, I strongly considered going to Monroeville (there was no way I was braving anywhere within a 6 mile radius of Downtown Pittsburgh)… but then getting a shower won out over getting back in my car and driving.

Around 9:30, I heard some LOUD booms that sounded really close to me, so I looked out the window facing west, thinking maybe I could see the Downtown fireworks (I can certainly hear them for every event). Nope, couldn’t see them, but then I walked over to the window in my kitchen and gasped – there was a huge firework right in front of my face, illuminating my kitchen. I scrambled around to grab a drink and some flip-flops, and then went outside to my breezeway to watch the show.

The display lasted a good 20-25 minutes, and I could see almost every firework. Ironically, there’s a decent chance they were the fireworks from the country club, unless Penn Hills was putting on a show. In any case, now that I know I have a great view with zero crowding, zero driving, and all the drinks and ice cream I can handle, I see no reason to go elsewhere for the festivities again. 🙂

Happy Birthday, ‘Merica!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

