No Shirt, No Shoes, No Problem

Aww yeah, get nekkid, everyone!

Juuuuuust kidding. Sort of. It was too chilly to go au natural at Wreck Beach, North America’s largest clothing optional beach… or so I thought (warning – that link takes you to a site that cycles pictures, and some of them include folks in the nude). I did bump into a butt naked man in the middle of the woods, so I guess it was okay for some people. I’ve already done the nude beach thing (ahhh, Europe…), so I was fine with keeping all of my clothes on. 🙂

So the nude beach was my first stop after grabbing coffee at 49th Parallel this morning. What a way to wake up. 😉

On the way to the beach, I saw this ad on the bus. Even from thousands of miles away, the Red Cross is on my mind.

Before I made it to the coffee and the nudies, I made my way to Chinatown and the Dr Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden.

The garden was nice and relatively peaceful (minus all the tourists like me), and it was certainly pretty.

The Chinatown area on its own, though? Wayyyyy sketchy. I was there in broad daylight and there were so many homeless people camped out on the street that I had to keep dodging and side-stepping to avoid walking on them. That was one of the things I abhorred about Portland, and Vancouver seems to have the same problem. I realize I say that from a standpoint of great privilege, but that’s not really what I came here to see.

After the Chinatown tour, the coffee, and the naked old men in the woods off of the beach, I was ravenous. I’d only had a whiskey bacon donut for breakfast (which was incredible, btw), and it had been about 7 hours since I’d eaten it. To La Taqueria Pinche Taco Shop I went!

I was so hungry, I was starting to feel nauseous, so I went with the 4 meat tacos for $10.50. From the bottom left: Al Pastor, Asada, the pork special, and Carnitas. You can’t really tell from the picture, but they were rather small; normally I stop at 2 tacos (okay, fine, maybe 3 if they’re extra-yummy). These were like 2-3 bite tacos… but man oh man were they packed with flavor! I wolfed all four of these puppies down in less than 5 minutes, which has to be a record for me. So awesome. I wanted more, but I also knew I had ice cream in my future, so I restrained myself.

Speaking of ice cream…

Hayyyyyyyyy.

I walked to Rain or Shine Ice Cream from the taco shop, and since I’m terrible at making decisions and picking flavors, I kind of just gave up and got the tasting flight. Yep, a tasting flight of ice cream. I kind of thought they’d be smaller samples, but nope. That’s a crazy amount of ice cream right there – probably enough for four people. But I ate every bite of them. From left: London Fog (my new favorite ice cream flavor), Honey Lavender, Coffee Toffee, and Blueberry Balsamic. All four were amazing. The Coffee Toffee was my least favorite of the four, but even it was incredible.

I’d never given myself a stomachache from too much ice cream until today. Worth it, though.

I made my way back to the apartment to drop some stuff off and to plan out the directions for the evening, and then went right back to it.

I took a little detour and headed back into Stanley Park to visit the Totem Poles. I was planning to find these yesterday, but apparently I’m awful at following maps and I ended up on the entire opposite side of the island. I found them today, though!

Got a nice view of Downtown Vancouver while I was there, too.

My next stop, just for fun, was a Vancouver Costco. I was like a kid in a candy store and I wanted to buy all the things. I even tried to buy all the things… but when I got to the register, I had a rude awakening. While the US stores just switched over to Visa from American Express, Canada apparently operates on MasterCard. I didn’t even think MasterCard was in business anymore. And, to make matters worse, they won’t take American-based debit cards. Booooo, Canadian Costco, BOOOOOO. I did grab a 25-cent bottle of water, though, and noticed the Costco food area was bumpin! Like, there was a line about 20 people long. I’ve never seen that in a US Costco. They had poutine, too, which was cool.

Speaking of which… dinner was served at La Belle Potate.

I knew I wouldn’t be hungry for a “real” dinner after all that ice cream, so I got a small traditional poutine and scarfed it down. As expected, it hit the spot.

After dinner, I walked around for another hour or so and then came home early, or earlier than I have been. I think I was in the apartment by 10:30, compared to 11:30 the other nights.

That’s another great Vancouver day in the books!

 

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Shirt, No Shoes, No Problem

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Hey, don’t be pickin’ on MasterCard – my debit card is MasterCard. LOL. I broke down and got the Costco Visa. But I guess that wouldn’t work in Canada either!

    Keep up the great describing – you are feeding the adventurer in me. Of course, the “stuck taking care of a dementia patient” in me is living vicariously through you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

