Working Too Hard Can Give You A Heart Attack

Working Too Hard Can Give You A Heart Attack

Today very much did not suck, but it started off a little strange.

Within about 15 minutes of my arrival in the office, the fire alarm started screeching and continued for over 10 minutes. The announcement that accompanied it instructed us to stand near the fire exit, but to not leave. Since we had a skeleton crew in the office today, we all stood up and looked at each other, perplexed. There’s a stairwell, which I assume would be the emergency exit, within a 10 feet of my desk, so I just sat back down and put my noise-canceling headphones on (I can still hear with them on, in case there was a serious emergency). After 10-15 minutes, the alarm suddenly stopped. A few minutes later, I saw firefighters arrive on our floor. They checked something out in the women’s restroom and then went off to another floor. It was the strangest thing. We never did have to leave, so I assume it was just an alarm.

A few hours later, we got our notification that lunch had arrived. Primanti Bros brought in three types of sandwiches – Pastrami & Cheese, Capicola & Cheese, and Pittsburghers. I almost always go for the Capicola & Cheese, so I figured I’d try something different this time and went with the Pastrami & Cheese. My exposure to pastrami has been limited almost exclusively to Jewish delis (like Katz’s), so the Primanti Bros one was not exactly what I was expecting. It was still good, but I like the capicola better. Then again, we didn’t have any mustard on-hand, and I think that would have greatly enhanced it. Regardless, I was thrilled with my free lunch, even if I was afraid it would give me a heart attack in the middle of the day. ๐Ÿ™‚

Around 2:30, I started packing up to leave, and someone mentioned to me that there were well over 100 sandwiches left… so I grabbed a couple to-go. Looks like I’ve got some extra lunches for tomorrow and the weekend!

By 2:30, the office was pretty much a ghost town. There’s a big rally scheduled to start pretty much right in front of our building at 4:30, so we were advised to leave by 3 at the latest. No problemo!

So not only did I get a fun free lunch today, but I also got some extra lunches AND got to leave work early. Today was kind of awesome! ๐Ÿ™‚

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

