Chariot Of Fire

Chariot Of Fire

I spent a good portion of the day shopping at the Waterfront, and I had my sunroof open the entire time – it was gorgeous outside and there was barely a cloud in the sky. But almost as soon as I got home, big dark clouds covered the sky and before I knew it, we had a pretty nice storm happening. I was so relieved that I made it home in time; it was a pretty insane-looking storm! The wind was gusting, trees were bending, thunder was rumbling, and rain was pouring down sideways. My power went out, so I thought I’d head to the gym… but then I got a notification of a fire on my phone and figured I should hang out for a few minutes to make sure I didn’t get a call from our Philadelphia office. Sure enough, I did, and so it was off to another fire for me!

I had an interesting situation where I received a text the very same second I got off the phone with Philadelphia – another volunteer heard the sirens in her neighborhood and offered to join us on the scene since she was so close, so we made plans to meet up. She got there before us, and she was able to warn us of the chaos – let’s just say there was a crazy amount of fire trucks there and we couldn’t get anywhere near the fire on our own. Luckily, a firefighter noticed our vehicle and told us where we could park, and then offered to drive us to the site. On the way there, we picked up our other volunteer; once she saw how far away the site was, she was happy for the ride. So I got to hang out with firefighters and ride in the back of one of their trucks. 🙂 It wasn’t your standard fire engine; it was more like an extra-large dually truck, but it was still cool (and super-nice of the guys to give us a ride).

We took care of business and then walked back to our vehicle, so we still got some exercise in. Plus, it was great to see one of the volunteers I don’t get to see very often – especially since she wasn’t on the schedule to come with us.

Funny how an unexpected storm can change your whole evening. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chariot Of Fire

Leave a Reply

