Second Chance

Second Chance

Not too long ago, I read a post from What’s Good at Trader Joe’s where they reviewed TJ’s Mahi Mahi Burgers. I didn’t put too much thought into what I was reading, as I’ve had mahi mahi before and absolutely hated it. In fact, it was mahi mahi from Trader Joe’s that I’d had before and it was awful. I’m not sure if it was the way I prepared it, or the product itself, but I haven’t eaten mahi mahi since. That was years ago, back when TJ’s first opened their first store in Pittsburgh, so I’ve gone a long time not daring to try mahi mahi a second time.

But I was in the store a week or so ago and bits of the glowing review popped into my head. On a whim, I tossed them into the basket and threw them in the freezer when I got home. I decided to give one a try for lunch today, and used a serving suggestion from WGATJ’s review – I topped it with Island Salsa. I also grilled up some red onion with the “burger” and threw it on top. I tried one bite without any salsa… not a huge fan. But the onion and the salsa definitely made it better – WAY better. I don’t think I’ll struggle to get through the other 3 burgers so long as I at least have some salsa to top them with. Alone, though? I think I’d pass.

Maybe mahi mahi just isn’t my thing? Who knows, but I’m glad I gave it a second chance. It’s certainly not as disgusting as I remembered it to be. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

