Isn’t It Ironic?

Isn't It Ironic?

I found it pretty amusing that I spent part of my afternoon sitting on my couch, eating cookies and getting fat and sweaty while I watched the second US women’s beach volleyball team lose. I was screaming my head off at them and working up quite a sweat despite the fact that I wasn’t anywhere near the real action. I believe the term is armchair quarterback… but for volleyball? Maybe armchair libero? Regardless, I think it’s pretty funny that things got so heated even though I was just watching tv.

Watching the pros play seemed to have a decent effect on me during my own sand game tonight, though. Actually, no, it probably wasn’t the Olympics that did it for me; it was the fact that we were playing against some not-so-sportsmanlike people. There’s a certain type of person that breeds contempt in me, and that is (for lack of a better term) douchebags. We played against a team of them tonight, and they provided plenty of fuel for my fire after our first set. We still didn’t win, but we gave them a run for their money and I started to get my mojo back. My mojo has been conspicuously missing for probably a year or so now, so I don’t even mind that it took playing against a team of tools to start to get it back.

I may have started the day as an armchair quarterback/libero, but at least I ended the night on a better, more proactive note. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Isn’t It Ironic?

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Funny thing. I watched some of the court volleyball and thought of you playing. I happened to watch the USA vs. Serbia match. I believe they won. USA that is….

    Like

Leave a Reply

