Five Things Friday: 08/12/16 Edition

Despite the fact that April 2004 was the last time I stepped foot in a classroom for school, the back-to-school season still gives me that excited butterflies-in-the-stomach feeling. Every year, I go to Target and just stand slack-jawed in the school supplies aisle for hours on end. I love it all so much. Until I got the idea in my head that I wanted to do something else, for years I had planned on becoming a teacher. From the time I was in second grade, through high school and a couple years of college, I would build out sample lesson plans and detail out how I could teach verb tenses better than my teachers. That was what I did in my free time. What a nerd.

I’m still a nerd to this day, and the back-to-school season still signifies new beginnings. While browsing in the school supplies aisle like a kid on Christmas morning, I picked up a planner. Every year I try to force myself into using a planner again, and every year I fail before the month of August ends. I have hope that this year will be different. For starters, I’m busier this year than I’ve been in years past and the cobwebs in my brain require that I write things down in order to remember appointments. Thanks to volunteer meetings and shifts, along with some work travel, I continually have new things to write down so I don’t forget. So far I’m on week four of writing things down. I might actually be able to keep the whole planner thing going this year. Wish me luck!

  1. Currently Reading: I finished two books this week! One was cookbook-style, which doesn’t really count in my mind, but I made my way through American Cocktail: 50 Recipes That Celebrate the Craft of Mixing Drinks from Coast to Coast. Honestly, it was meh. As I’ve mentioned before, we don’t have fancy liqueurs and mixers where I work, so most of the recipes in this book weren’t useful. I was able to re-vamp one of them, though, into my latest “I don’t know, give me something fruity” drink. I tasted it Saturday and I wasn’t a fan (too sweet!), but the person I gave it to was. I guess that’s what matters.

    The second book I finished was one that I started a few weeks ago and needed to return to the library – Out of Orange. A few days after I had to return it, it was available again, so I scooped it up. I’m rather content with that decision, even though I didn’t really like it at first. By the end, I’d grown accustomed to the writing style and I appreciated the story. I don’t think it was as good as Piper Kerman’s story, but Cleary Wolters’ story gave a lot more background. I’m glad I returned to it and finished it!

  2. Currently Eating: I am killing the fridge/freezer/pantry inventory thing! There’s still a lot of eating to be done, but I feel better about life seeing that my freezer in particular is being emptied out and knowing that I’m actually using the food instead of just squirreling it away. I finished the entire package of Trader Joe’s mahi mahi burgers and ended up really liking them by the end of the box. Had I not done this inventory thing, those suckers would still be sitting in the downstairs freezer, probably for another year or two.

    The downside to the inventory thing is that I’ve been trying to eat a lot of the pre-packaged food (for example, mahi mahi burgers) and now I’m getting to the point where I’m going to have to actually make food in order to make progress. Like, I’m thawing some chicken breasts for dinner tonight, because the other option is shrimp (I’ve had enough seafood this week) or veggie burgers. I typically prefer to keep the heat-and-eat meals for when I’m exhausted (usually swim days), so tonight the plan is to make real food. Perfect time to turn on the stove and oven since it’s nice and hot and muggy. 🙂

  3. Currently Craving: Nothing food-related, surprisingly. I would still love for a Caliente pizza to show up on my doorstep, but that’s about it.

    What I am craving, not food-wise, is more sand volleyball. I couldn’t sleep last night because I was so worked up. We’re having my favorite volleyball weather right now – hot and humid – and I hope it sticks around through next Thursday night. While other people get sluggish in the humidity, I get keyed up; humidity is my jam. The way I look at it is, the sweatier, the better. I might need to seek out my local sand court this evening and do some solo drills to make the most of it if I don’t get a volunteer call.

  4. Currently Loving: I know I’ve kept so quiet about it, but I’m really super-duper loving the Olympics. Like, I’m kind of obsessed with them. I’m not sure if it’s because I haven’t had tv in so long, or because I’m really just enjoying the games themselves, but I can’t get enough. I’m especially loving the stories of the young athletes, and I basically just sit on my couch and cry tears of joy and pride every time one of these kids wins a medal. These Olympics are making me an emotional mess, but I like it.

    I’m also loving the fact that I get a little bit more of a break from crazy work stuff than I’d anticipated – it appears that we’re in a rare rest period at work. My boss returned this week, and I don’t have an extra project yet; just the ones I’ve had for the past couple months. He said it’s unlikely he’ll have another one to give me for a few weeks. So… more time to watch the Olympics at home! Huzzah! But really, I’m going to enjoy this quiet period now, because I know it’s not going to last. Case in point, I just learned I might have to go to Omaha in a couple weeks. That should be… interesting. (Not.)

    In videos I’m loving, here are a few:

    — I simply cannot get enough of the Farmers Insurance Mer Mutts commercial. HOW DO THEY GET THEM TO DO THAT?? Also, the dude standing on the stairs watching his house flood with swimming puppies – is he Luschek from OITNB?? If not, he has a doppelganger.

    — A couple months ago in a team meeting, one of our staff members showed us this video (and I later found this one) – it’s a good way to show people what we do as a volunteer organization (and as a Team Lead on the disaster team, in specific). It’s a really good representation of what we do – from being woken in the middle of the night to help people we don’t know, to listening to people and providing support for everyday disasters.

    — After watching the RC volunteer videos, I got sucked into another wormhole – Red Cross Stories. The two at the end just destroyed me.

  5. Currently Anticipating: It feels like the first payday of this month is taking forever to arrive, so I’m really looking forward to Monday (payday). I’m also looking forward to tomorrow, since hopefully I’ll be able to make some money bartending (it’s also payday there). I tend to get anxious if my bank account falls below a certain amount, and that amount is edging closer every day.

    I’m also anticipating a volunteer training thing that’s happening next week, which will hopefully allow me to do more. I’m afraid that this next level is something that might be a little too much for me, so I’m looking forward to the info session where I can learn more about just what will be required.

Have a great weekend!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Five Things Friday: 08/12/16 Edition

  1. maryaquino says:

    OMG – LOVE the Mer Mutts commercial. And, I can’t imagine any of my dogs doing that but I bet Tank & Taco would do well. Love it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

