Rollercoaster


It’s been quite a day full of ups and downs. 

Down: Lionel Richie died today. No, not the singer; my favorite mug. I knew I had a meeting after work, so it made sense to go to the office today. The first thing that happened when I got there was that I dropped my precious “Hello… Is it tea you’re looking for?” mug. SAD. 

Up: We finally – after months of back and forth with our Facilities department – got some sand in the base of the punching bag at work. It’s only filled up halfway, though, which I quickly discovered is not enough. More sand is hopefully on the way. 

Up: I was able to time my walk to the volunteer office for my meeting perfectly – I had just hit the alley to the side door when the first raindrops fell. By the time I walked to the front door from inside, it looked like a monsoon outside. I got lucky on that one!

Up: I’m officially a “Supervisor on Duty” now, which is something we’re trying out. Normally that position is reserved for actual staff, but a few of us agreed to be trained as volunteers. I’m so pumped! I got all sorts of info tonight, and I’m excited to play around with some of my new access. I might get my chance tomorrow – I’m the first one from the group who’s signed up for an SOD shift; I’m on tomorrow evening into Thursday morning. W00t! (Also, between you and me? I’m terrified. What have I gotten myself into??)

Down: After all the excitement of the day, I was looking forward to going home, making some dinner, and settling in on the couch to watch the Olympics. Of course, due to the storm that I narrowly avoided while at my meeting, my power was knocked out. It’s out all over the Wilkins/Forest Hills/Monroeville area. So I went to the gym to watch their tv for a while, but I figured the power would be back on by now since it’s been about 4 hours. Spoiler alert: it’s not. And I’m hungry. And my phone is about to die. This is shaping up to be a not-great situation. 😦

Hopefully the power is back on before my first SOD shift tomorrow; otherwise I’m not sure what I’ll do. I guess if all else fails I can spend the night in the volunteer office. Let’s hope it doesn’t come to that, though!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rollercoaster

  1. maryaquino says:

    Condolences (Lionel Richie)
    Congratulations! (Supervisor On Duty)
    Is your power back yet?

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      Thanks (x2)!
      Still no power. I was up pretty much all night since it was hot and humid and I was hungry (never got to eat dinner), and the power company’s trucks drove slowly up and down my street all night long, never once stopping near my house. When I saw the update this morning, they went from over 9000 outages to under 2000 overnight, and my area isn’t even on the map anymore, so I guess they just forgot about me? There are worse problems (I could be in Louisiana, for example), but having to throw away all my food really sucks. At least I have the means to get more, though.

      Liked by 1 person

      • maryaquino says:

        Good way to add a positive slant. I have to say, no power really starts to suck after the food begins to spoil and the air conditioner doesn’t work. Oh yeah…..hot water for a shower….yeah, gotta have that.

        Hope it comes back on soon!

        Like

Leave a Reply

