Raccoon Eyes

Raccoon Eyes

I didn’t get much sleep last night, what with the heat, humidity, and rumbling stomach. The night before I only slept three hours, so that wasn’t much better. You’d think, after being so sleep-deficient, I wouldn’t want to enhance the darkness of my eye sockets. So I can blame it on the sleep deprivation that led me to try out liquid eyeliner this morning.

I’m pretty darn tomboy/minimalist when it comes to makeup and the like. I often leave the house bare-faced, preferring to sleep a few extra minutes than wake up earlier to apply makeup. And when I do take the few minutes to apply it, I stick to blush and bronzing powder. I normally only wear eye makeup when I bartend, or if I have an in-person meeting that I feel abnormally ambitious about. Today I had neither of those things planned, but since I wasn’t wasting my time sleeping, I had a few extra minutes in the morning.

So I tried the liquid liner. I usually stick with a brown pencil liner because I’m not all that confident in my “drawing” ability; in fact, I’ve only worn this liquid liner once and it was to match part of my Halloween costume back in 2009. Yes, that means this liner has been in my drawer for seven years. I probably shouldn’t have put it anywhere near my eye, but I wasn’t exactly thinking straight. That said, I actually kind of liked it. It didn’t look nearly as emo as I’d expected; it actually looked pretty normal!

The strange downside of all this is that I ended up having an amazing day – I was off-the-charts productive! I was doing some next-level multi-tasking between work and volunteer stuff, and some of the volunteer stuff I was doing was apparently circulated by our management region-wide today. First day on the job as an SOD and I’m already overachieving! 🙂

So now I have the feeling I’m going to be wearing more of this liquid liner crap – I’m a little superstitious, and if I had such an awesome day with it today, why not try it again tomorrow to see if the luck carries over?

Sigh. I’d better get used to waking up earlier.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raccoon Eyes

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

