Complacency Leads To Casualties


They say you should know your enemies, and what better/more terrifying enemy is there than an active threat or an active shooter? This morning, I had the opportunity to attend active shooter/active threat preparation training session thanks to the Red Cross. We had an independent consultant come in, Terrence, and he went through some things he’s seen in 32 years in the military and as a civilian as a police office and a security consultant. 

The possibility that someone can come into your place of employment, or the mall, or just a crowded public event and open fire is no longer something that happens other places and not here. Terrorism, in all senses of the word, is here, now. And while we’re not all armed and ready to take down an active shooter, there are a lot of ways us “regular” folks can prevent unnecessary carnage. The main takeaway was that complacency leads to casualties – if you don’t do anything when you notice something is amiss, you could be missing an opportunity to save lives. Terrence went through a lot of the actions we can take to keep our friends, families, coworkers, and neighbors safe, and I’m going to take a lot of what he said and try to talk to management at both jobs about what measures we can put in place. I’m also working on seeing if we’d be able to put some sort of text messaging out to our volunteers with the technology we currently have, to alert them in the event of local crises, but that might have some interesting challenges.

This training was probably the best thing I could have done with 3 hours on a Saturday morning, and this is coming from someone who hasn’t fallen asleep before 4am for the past week. This was prime sleeping time, especially for a day when I have to bartend tonight. But the training was great, and I’m going to tell everyone I know about it – the more people who can be prepared, the better. 

If I remember and if I can get some time during the next few days, I’m going to try to type up my notes from the class and I might post them on here – after all, I don’t know who is reading this; for all I know, someone might see that post and use the tactics to save lives during the next active shooter event. 

As for right now, I need to get ready for work. I estimate I’ll be away from my house for at least 18 hours today – yikes! Maybe that means I’ll finally sleep when I get home? Maybe? Please???

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Complacency Leads To Casualties

  1. maryaquino says:

    I look forward to reading your notes.

    Like

  2. Nothing Personal says:

    You’re like one of those things that always has energy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

