Simply Irresistible

Simply Irresistible

I’m on this strange quest to appear more put-together when I go out in public… a quest that’s admittedly long-overdue. The liquid eyeliner was a good start, but then I went a little crazy and added some lipstick into the mix. Not just any lipstick, though – bright red lipstick.

Normally when I’m out, I try to blend in. I’ve gotten so good at it that I’m a gosh darn chameleon now – this is probably why I end up being used as a seat cushion on the bus sometimes, and why people seemingly don’t see me when I’m walking directly towards them. But it’s really hard to hide and blend in when your lips are the brightest shade of red you’ve ever seen (this, coming from someone whose volunteer wardrobe largely consists of bright red).

I have to admit, when I tried it on when I got home last night, I felt silly. Why on earth would I spend money on something that I clearly would never wear? But then I blotted it a little and applied some Carmex to the top, and you know what? It started to grow on me. I still felt like I was in Robert Palmer’s music video for Simply Irresistible, but in a ‘hey, look, I’m not invisible!’ kind of way.

I even wore it to work today, and between the eyeliner and the lips, I barely even recognized myself when I looked in the mirror. It went over well, though, and I noticed I was walking taller (for me) all day. I guess having red hot lips forces you to exude a little more confidence. 🙂

So for now, the red lips are going to stay, but temporarily. I don’t plan on bringing much makeup with me to the beach, obviously. But when I get back, I’m going to try to remember what I’ve learned in these little makeup experiments. It’s not that wearing eyeliner and red lipstick gives me more attention (I still hate drawing attention to myself); it’s more that wearing them seems to impart a sense of confidence and competence, which is really what I’m going for.

And after all, confidence and competence really are simply irresistible, no?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Simply Irresistible

  1. maryaquino says:

    Matte. I have turned my life over to matte lipstick. When I wear it. Which is like…1% of my life. But, it’s a thing. And I like it.

    And now I’m siging, “She’s so fine, there’s no telling where the money went….”

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      The one I bought is matte – Maybelline’s Siren in Scarlet. It’s supposed to be a cheaper version of MAC’s Ruby Woo. No idea if it’s a reasonable substitute or not, but it’s really growing on me.

      I watched that video for the first time in years last night. I hated the video when it first came out – I was 6 at the time, and it just made me really uncomfortable. For years, that’s how I felt when I saw the video or heard the song. But when I watched the video last night, I had a totally different impression – a much more favorable one.

      Turns out videos, like foods that you hated as a kid, are worth returning to when you’re older.

      Liked by 1 person

      • maryaquino says:

        I have mostly leaned toward buff/nude shades since my wedding. I think my favorite is a Bare Minerals shade. I never remember names of that kinda stuff.

        Robert Palmer is dead. Just stating an obvious. I didn’t LOVE this song, but the other one was a favorite….addicted to love. Loved it.

        Like

      • Lindsay says:

        Yeah, I actually didn’t know that until last night. I was never a huge fan, but then I felt bad for hating his video for so long once I found out.

        And I only know the lipstick shade because it’s sitting beside me on my desk. Otherwise, I’d just call it “something obnoxiously red from Maybelline… I think.”

        Liked by 1 person

      • maryaquino says:

        Funny, I just found mine in my purse but the writing is so small, I can’t see the name. Slay, maybe….

        Like

Leave a Reply

