Abundance

Abundance

This was such a wonderful yet weird day. I spent a lot of last night replaying conversations in my mind after a friend/volunteer sent me an email and referenced “Human Vacuum” in the text. It’s not that there’s anything bad on here – I think that’s pretty clear – but there’s a certain awkwardness and unevenness that occurs when you discover someone that you know knows a lot more about you than you know about them. If it’s all out in the open, it’s not such a big deal… but since I normally don’t start conversations with “Hi! My name is Lindsay and I write a blog called Confessions of a Human Vacuum,” it’s always legitimately surprising to me when someone finds it.

This morning, after we continued our email string from last night, I learned that the very first time I went on a call with this person, I must have casually mentioned having a blog and mentioned the nickname Human Vacuum in the span of one disaster call. And it was just my luck that he seems to have an iron-clad memory and he remembered every bit of the conversation. I, on the other hand, was sleep-deprived (like now) and when I get really tired, I ramble talk to keep myself awake. I also tend to forget all of my super-tired conversations immediately, so I had no recollection whatsoever that we had that discussion. When he let me in on how this knowledge came about, I did a literal ::headdesk:: against the bus window… I guess that would be considered a ::headwindow::… I’m so full of awkward.

And you know what happens when you find out someone has known about your blog for 6 months? You go back and dissect everything you’ve ever written. That’s not to say that the person has even read one word of the blog, but still. WHEN WILL I GROW OUT OF THIS AWKWARD PHASE?!

Anyway… moving on.

We had a big end of summer party at work today, which involved copious amounts of bottled beverages and one of the hugest spreads of food I’ve ever seen at work. The invite said “light snacks,” but geez, we had more food there than for Free Lunch Wednesday. It was kind of awesome. And any excuse I get to try new-to-me adult beverages at 1 in the afternoon is considered a win. I opted for a bottle of Not Your Father’s Ginger Ale, which was sweeter than I’d expected. I ended up cutting it with seltzer water about halfway through the bottle, which drew some strange looks from folks. 🙂 I also went way crazy on the three ginormous fruit platters, and had my fair share of meatballs, egg rolls, dumplings, and chicken satay. I knew I had a volunteer orientation session after work, so I was happy to know I wouldn’t be hungry in the slightest when I arrived.

… Except I arrived at the orientation and was presented with pizza and sandwiches. Oy vey. When it rains, it pours, no? The session lasted two hours, so I ended up nibbling on a slice of pizza while I was there, and I appreciated the thought. But geesh, when I could use a snack, there’s never any food around. Let’s spread the free food wealth around a little, eh? 🙂

Wish me luck with finishing out my on-call shift without incident, maybe getting some sleep, and then packing for vacation while I work tomorrow. Things might get crazy before I leave! But then again, I thrive on crazy. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

