Crabby


Last night we headed to the beach to listen to some music and have a drink. While we were there, we saw a dog going nuts over something and had to strain to see what all the excitement was about. Something skittered under the deck we were on and the dog’s people dragged him away. A few minutes later, a creature emerged from the deck once it realized the danger was gone – a sand crab! Once we saw one, we saw a bunch. We were absolutely entranced by them – we barely talked or did anything other than watch the crabs. 

Fast-forward to this morning, and we headed to the pool. My mom and I were still talking about the crabs when she splashed me to get my attention – a sand crab was on the pool deck. He was all alone, so we think he may have been lost. I spent a decent amount of time talking to the little guy. He became attached to me, I think, because he made his way over to my lounge chair and hung out. That lasted until some guy got an employee to remove my little buddy. 

So yep. We got crabs in Cape Charles. šŸ™‚

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crabby

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Down here…well, down in Charleston in the marshes, we have what are called “fiddler crabs”. They scamper sideways (maybe all crabs do) and have one HUGE claw and one small claw. Back in the day when I smoked and worked *at* the Blackbaud building on Daniel Island, if you were first out in the morning, you’d see the fiddler crabs running for cover at the sound and sight of a human being. It was almost as if the ground was moving there were so many of them.

    I prefer my crabs cracked, butter to dip, and much larger than those….

    Like

Leave a Reply

