Old Fashioned Love

Old Fashioned Love

We had a happy hour at Six Penn Kitchen for work this evening, and boy was I looking forward to a nice strong drink. The entire day, I was thinking, “Can we go yet? How bout now? Now?” Not that it was a bad day, per se, but it sure didn’t start out well.

But eventually, 5pm rolled around, and then a harsh reality struck me – hardly anyone from my immediate team was in the office, aside from me, my boss, and my boss’s boss. The happy hour was for a larger group, but I really only knew my immediate team, other than knowing people to see them. So I saddled up to the bar, promptly ordered a Woodford Reserve Old Fashioned, and then made conversation with the first people who looked familiar.

They were two other women around my age, and I’ve seen them on our floor, but on the other side of the building since they work on a different product and team. We got to talking, and they decided they want to take me on as a project to fix up on a date. I tried telling them no, that I don’t have time for that kind of nonsense and I’m generally quite happy being single, but they weren’t having it. Despite my repeated protests of “No, I volunteer a lot, and have a lot of after-work activities and a second job, so I don’t really have time or energy to devote to a relationship,” they insisted they know some guys to set me up with.

So my question is, why do people feel the need to fix single people up when they’re [mostly] perfectly content being single?

I recently ran into nearly the same thing with a fellow volunteer. She thinks I’d be a great match for her former neighbor, and honestly, he really does sound promising. But the day before she called me about him, we were on a call together, just the two of us, and she asked me if I was trying to date anyone. I obviously told her no, but she took that as “please fix me up with someone.” I’m 1000% percent positive she was just looking out for me and meant nothing but good, but again, why do married people insist on the rest of us being coupled up?

Sigh. The whole thing just makes me irritable. I know it shouldn’t since everyone means well, but why does society not think it’s okay to be alone?

It’s enough to drive a girl to drink. 😉

/end rant

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

