Revenge Of The Nerds

Revenge Of The Nerds

Ohhhh, there are sooo many things I want to say about tonight, but I can’t. They’re good things, too. I even have some photographic evidence of what happened, but I feel the need to protect the innocent.

Let’s say this: there was an event at work tonight that wasn’t a wedding (what we usually do on Saturday nights). The people invited to the event were self-described “nerds,” and took pride in that name – in fact, many of them came to the bar boasting that they’re nerds. Towards the beginning of the night, the first guy who proudly claimed he’s a nerd  explained what the event was (it was truly something I’ve never seen in 34 years) and then said, “Yeah, you’ll see, we’re a bunch of nerds.” To which I replied, “Oh, you’re my people.” Because let’s face it, I’m a giant nerd.

Well, that guy must have gone back to his table and told all his friends, because from that point on, people came up to the bar and squealed, “YOU’RE ONE OF US!!” The other bartender nearly lost it a few times, he was laughing so hard. I became “Queen of the Nerds.”

I was invited to the after-party, but I decided against it. I think it was at an Eat’n Park, and though I’m all-in on some midnight grilled stickies action, that’s the last thing I need after a couple weeks of vacation eating.

Honestly, though, this group was just about the nicest group of people we’ve ever worked with, in my opinion. So polite! They knew their limits! And as I told the other bartender, making conversation with them was so easy; we had things to talk about! (<– That didn’t help my case for protesting the Queen of the Nerds title.)

So I want to share all of it with the world, but since I’d rather keep the work stuff officially under wraps (because most nights are NOT this great), I can’t. But be content in the knowledge that I had a nice, comfortable night, and now I know there are people in Pittsburgh who fit my nerd personality. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

