Big Acceptance!

I’ve been 100% certain, ever since I applied for an additional volunteer position, that I would at some point receive a “Thanks, but no thanks” letter in the mail. I was so positive I’d be rejected that the only people I told were the people I put down as references, plus two volunteers. In each case, the people said I’d be a great Big, but I just wasn’t sure. I knew I wanted to try, though, because I want to get more comfortable around kids.

In my interview with the group, I made it very clear that I have zero (none at all) experience with kids. I was so sure they’d say no simply because of that, or because of my volunteer schedule, or my other extracurricular activities. I really, truly laid out everything and anything that could make me look bad. If I got accepted to the program, I wanted to be sure that I hadn’t forgotten something – I didn’t want to have to pretend to be someone I’m not, or have to hide things.

And then I got the mail this afternoon and I saw a bill-sized envelope with the BBBS logo on it. I went into college acceptance mode, and immediately thought that a thin envelope meant I was being rejected. But nope! I got accepted! I’m going to be a Big!

I’m so friggin excited; you’d think I just found out I was having a kid of my own. I’m also more than a little terrified – I mean, I ate ice cream for two meals yesterday and usually my life is in shambles… I’m hardly someone a kid should look up to. But then I’m reminded of how I recounted my Friday night to a bunch of nerds on Saturday and I bucked up. The short version of Friday? Gym, Costco, library, brussels sprouts, bed by 10. Turns out I’m as much of an adult as any 74 year-old.

I still have to wait to get matched to a Little, and I’m told it may take months. But in the meantime, I’ll be able to start thinking of activities to do with kids! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Big Acceptance!

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. Amy says:

    Congratulations!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. maryaquino says:

    You have a job (or three). You seem to have the ability to set priorities and accomplish them. I think you’re perfect for the job!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nothing Personal says:

    Congratulations. And I don’t know what you’re worried about: Kids love ice cream. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

