Blurry

Blurry

Today was just about the BEST! DAY! EVER!

It didn’t start out that way, though. I was supposed to take this certification exam thing for work – an exam I helped create, by the way, back in December and January. I’ve been dreading this exam for nine months, and I finally needed to take it today. The content, as it turns out, was not the problem. The problem was technical difficulties that tend to result with trying to access a proctored exam with a secure server. It was not a fun time. My original exam time was 1:15. That attempt didn’t work, so it moved to 2:45. Then that time didn’t work and I was able to move it to 3. Then 3:15. Then 3:45. Finally, the exam started at like 3:58. The process to take the exam = Fail. The exam itself = Pass. In fact, I got a 96%, which was way higher than I thought I’d get. Huzzah!

So yeah, I spent most of my day (afternoon, at least) trying to take a stupid test. It was not my ideal afternoon.

Evening, though, was AWESOME!

We had our first full-team volunteer meeting since June, and it was so fantastic to see everyone again! You have no idea how tough it is to restrain myself right now and not let myself type this entire post in caps lock. Like, I’m that happy. I got to see a lot of the regular faces, and I even got to meet a new trainee or two – our little group is expanding. 🙂

Before the meeting, I had a separate meeting with another volunteer to discuss some mapping work I’d done and to see what the mapping team has done to-date with another application. I think I’m now unofficially on the mapping team, and that’s just fine with me. I like to geek out over data and analysis, so this is right up my alley.

After the meeting, another volunteer and I initiated what we call “Operation Social Chair,” which is our attempt to get people to be social outside of our regular team meeting. We headed to a newer bar in Lawrenceville called Roasted, and took up basically the entire front of the bar. Almost as soon as I’d walked in, I got a message from a friend, Leandra, asking if I was at that bar – she was just a couple booths away! It was really great to see her again, and I got to meet her significant other, who seems super-nice. As a volunteer group, we ended up with 9 or 10 people at the bar. Plus, several people were texting me later and told me they didn’t know about the bar plans; apparently not everyone heard my little announcement at the end of the meeting. I’m fairly confident that we can get 12 or more people next month, assuming I don’t have a volleyball game immediately afterwards (but I probably do).

And, for the first time ever, I knowingly told a volunteer about the blog… so hi, Phil! Emphasis on knowingly – meaning, it wasn’t the middle of the night and I wasn’t talking to keep myself awake and then immediately forgot the conversation. Ahem. But also, the dude that situation happened to (with?) also came to the bar afterwards. It was like a bar full of some of my most favorite people in the entire world. #nerd

Anyway, we took some selfies and even got a group shot in which I look like I’m 6 feet tall (thanks, barstool!), but for obvious reasons I can’t post that. Instead, I’ve included a picture of what I thought was a group selfie pic, but which turned out to be just a big blur. That pretty much sums up the night. 🙂

Happy almost-Friday, everyone; let’s celebrate!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

