Glamour Shots

Glamour Shots

For a brief period of time today (too brief), I was a happy girl. I was feeling good, I got to take an hour or so for myself, and I was having fun with friends via Facebook and email.

And then it all came crumbling down, with most of an evening filled with words about how undateable I am, and how I have such an odious personality, and how it’s not how I look that’s what’s repelling everyone; it’s me – my core being. One minute we were having a nice conversation and I was discussing my first haircut in 14 months; the next I was being told it’s not my looks that are my problem, but my personality and who I am. Maybe I shouldn’t have pressed the issue by asking, “What do you mean?” Maybe if I hadn’t, I wouldn’t have had to dwell on the words for the rest of the night. Maybe, maybe, maybe.

But this is supposed to be a place for what was good in the day, so let me repeat: I got my first haircut in 14 months! 14 freaking months! And it was fantastic! I went to Bella Capelli in Monroeville – my hair is far from complicated and all I ever get is a trim, so I have no issues with students cutting my hair. My stylist, Jordan, was great – she gave me this scalp massage while she washed my hair, and she was content to focus on my hair and leave me to my phone (I was working on some volunteer mapping stuff and the emails were flying – I apologized for being rude and staring at my phone, but she assured me it was fine). Plus, when I left, my hair looked pretty decent (for once).

After the cut, I went to Target to waste some time, and I even found two new dresses to take with me to Omaha next week. Score!

At least the day wasn’t completely awful.

 

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Glamour Shots

  1. Amy says:

    Never change who you are to please someone else. You will find people (and it sounds like you already have!) who appreciate you for everything that you are and are not. Also, you don’t need to find a significant other to be whole or fulfilled. You have everything you need within you. Be true to yourself and the rest will follow. *Okay, self-help rant over. But I mean it, and it’s all true.*

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      The stupid (and completely ironic) part of it is, this entire conversation stemmed from me trying to be more confident – eyeliner, lipstick, haircut, etc. Somehow, the person who said it made it about finding a guy, but that wasn’t my intention (and clearly, that will not be happening). I’m very much a “show your true self” type of person on dates – what’s the point of pretending to be someone you’re not, only to have the person realize two months later that you’re completely different? But apparently I shouldn’t be doing that (not that I ever go on dates), and now I have a long list of things I shouldn’t discuss on a first date – courtesy of the person I had this conversation with.
      And sure, I love the volunteers, but geez, I think I’m even grating on their nerves. I need to go to Time-Out or something. Maybe this business trip will be an opportunity to reset and reassess things.

      Like

      • Amy says:

        Keep in mind, too, that this person is seeing you and giving you advice from his/her own perspective. What they see is colored by their own life and experiences, and it may not be what others see at all.
        From what I see (from reading your blog), you’re an incredibly smart, talented, self-sufficient, interesting, athletic and loyal person. There’s no reason that you shouldn’t be confident! So rock your lipstick and eyeliner (or not!) and get out there and give your gifts to the world, because no one can like you can.
        This stuff may sound completely cheesy but I can relate to what you’re saying here all too well (I’ve been there) and I thought maybe seeing things from a different, random perspective might help you.

        Like

      • Lindsay says:

        Sigh. You are too nice. 🙂

        Like

  2. maryaquino says:

    Seriously…unless the person saying all the stuff about your personality was your mom…or dad…ignore them. I don’t know you but….there’s someone for everyone out there. If *I* could find the love of my life, you can. I have to go look up odious in the dictionary. I’m thinking it doesn’t mean sprayed with perfume. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

