Fun Follows

Fun Follows

Welcome to Omaha, Nebraska!

I never really thought I’d step foot in Omaha – never thought I’d have any reason to. But here I am, and it’s not so bad at all. A friend/coworker who’s here with me said tonight, “No matter where I go, I know if I’m with you it’s going to be a fun time and we’re going to eat well.” I like to think I bring the fun (despite recent blog posts to the contrary). 🙂

I rolled into Omaha at around 5pm, met some of my team, and then we drove to the hotel to drop our stuff before dinner. They wanted to stay in the area, so we walked to a place called Ponzu just down the street. When I think of Omaha, I don’t normally think of sushi, but that’s what we went for. Not my first choice, but it was actually pretty darn good. We each ordered a different maki roll to share, and then we ordered a nigiri platter for the table. It ended up being the perfect amount for 4 of us – we were satisfied, but not stuffed. I got to try raw octopus for the first time, which was interesting. One of my favorite snacks used to be dried cuttlefish (thanks to Japanese class), but this was nothing like that. To be honest, I’m not so sure I loved the octopus. It wasn’t bad, but it didn’t really taste like anything at all. The rest of the sushi was good, though.

After dinner, we narrowed down our dessert choices to ice cream, and there just happened to be a bar near one of the places on my restaurant list. So we drove to that part of town and ended up staying for a while.

The bar was called Dundee Deli, and while we would have liked to have gone there for lunch one day this week, the timing wouldn’t work in our favor. So instead, we visited them tonight to see their Great Wall of Scotch. I’ve been told that Dundee’s has the largest selection of scotch in the US. I’ve never really gotten into scotch, but after tonight I feel like I could. We each got an ounce and a half of Oban Little Bay, which I’d never heard of before tonight. It was freaking fantastic. Granted, I don’t know what I’m talking about when it comes to scotch, other than I hate Dewar’s and I like Chivas, but this was gooooooood. I’m going to have to try to find some of the Oban when I get back home.

Beside Dundee is a place called Cask Republic, and their signage advertised “craft beer, mixed drinks, & poutine.” I, of course, get obnoxiously excited any time someone mentions gravy or cheese curds, so poutine is basically my kryptonite. To my astonishment, no one else on my team had even heard of poutine before. So you’re darn right I dragged them next door to share a plate of it before we got ice cream. As you may have guessed, they were big fans. And really, who wouldn’t be? French fries, gravy, and cheese curds? What’s not to love?!

The three people I was with were just floored that I still wanted to get ice cream after the sushi feast + scotch + poutine. They clearly don’t know who they’re dealing with. So off we went to the last storefront on the block – eCreamery. I got a scoop of Sunday Memories, which was sweet cream ice cream with brownie pieces and peanuts. Noms. Not the best ice cream I’ve ever had, but it was good. It was also the perfect end to the evening – my teammates couldn’t (or maybe wouldn’t) fit any more food into their bellies. Amateurs. 😉

So far, so good, Omaha. Let’s see what tomorrow brings!

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun Follows

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

