I Love It When You Call Me Big Ma-Ma

I Love It When You Call Me Big Ma-Ma

Hola from the Omaha Eppley Airfield airport.

I’m becoming quite familiar with this airport because I got the unwelcome news that my connecting flight to Detroit has been delayed “indefinitely,” per the Delta agent I spoke to when I checked my bag. I’ve since been placed on a different flight to Minneapolis, but I was warned that all flights to Minneapolis are actually being diverted to Omaha (ironic), and that my departure does not look promising. And then when I tried to check my seat assignment for the flight to Minneapolis, I discovered that I don’t actually have an assigned seat; nor do I have one for the flight from Minneapolis to Pittsburgh. So. It might be a very, very long night.

I wouldn’t mind another night in Omaha – after all, I have more restaurants on my list to get through – but there’s an issue with another customer that I have a tiny window to take care of tomorrow morning. It’s a pretty huge thing (a Go-Live cutover), and it needs to be done in a specific order, at a specific time. So if I’m stuck in Omaha another night, there’s no telling when or if I’ll be able to do it. The last thing I want is for my boss to have to do my work because I’m trapped in an airport.

Anyway, there’s a silver lining to all this. Before I knew about the delayed flights, I stopped and grabbed lunch to go at a place called Big Mama’s Kitchen. Big Mama’s is known for soul food, and they were featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, & Dives. My family loves that stuff, so I had to stop for lunch and to take pictures.

I grabbed a 3-piece oven fried chicken meal with cornbread, mac & cheese, and mashed potatoes with gravy. I also snagged a taste of the most unique ice cream flavor I’ve ever seen – green tomato raisin. Believe it or not, it tasted just like apple pie ice cream. For real. It was really, really good, and if I hadn’t been rushing to the airport, I would have gotten a full scoop.

As it was, I timed the drive to the airport perfectly – for the flight that no longer exists. So instead of rushing to get through security, I’ve been hanging out in the non-secure area and soaking up the free wifi, eating my meal from Big Mama’s. As I told my mom, “Don’t worry, I have enough food to tide me over. I’ll be okay.” As though she’d ever worry about that. 😉

 

My ideal scenario here is that the flight to MSP is canceled and Delta puts me up in a hotel with a rental car for the night and then I grab a flight tomorrow early afternoon. That way I’d be able to enjoy another night in Omaha, perform my cutover tasks in the morning, and then be able to spend the day traveling tomorrow (though I’d have to get someone to cover my on-call shift in the evening). I don’t think it’s going to work out quite like that, but a girl can dream. On the plus side, the volleyball game we were supposed to have tonight has been pushed to next week, so I don’t have to worry about that.

Cross your fingers that I either get back to Pittsburgh tonight, or that I get to enjoy one more night and do my cutover tasks tomorrow. As long as I don’t have to fly tomorrow morning (from anywhere), I should be good to go (hopefully). In the meantime, I’ve been told there’s a Cold Stone Creamery here, so you know where to find me…

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Love It When You Call Me Big Ma-Ma

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

