Support Team

Support Team

To give you some perspective on how old I feel today, I walked into the gym tonight and saw a woman around my age on the treadmill with a girl who appeared to be a young teenager. “Aw, that’s nice, she’s hanging with her little sister at the gym,” I thought. And then I got closer and realized they were mother and daughter. Ooof. That’s a nice gut-punch right there. Sometimes I’m just a weeeee bit delusional about my age.

Speaking of mothers and daughters, my mom is going to be trying a low-carb thing. When I was with her yesterday, she didn’t seem all that thrilled about it… and she’s not much of a cook to begin with (she’ll gladly confirm that). So I joked that I’d make some low-carb meals in solidarity. I decided to hold up my end of the bargain today, and spent my day and night cooking some low-carb options to test them out for her.

I started with cauliflower crust pizza – I mixed a bunch of herbs into the cauliflower crust, and topped it with no salt added tomato sauce, more herbs, freshly grated parmesan, a couple slices of bacon, and some sliced turkey meatballs. I’m not quite sure why the meatballs look green, but I promise they’re not. I made enough for lunch tomorrow, dinner Wednesday, and lunch again on Thursday, so I’m hoping it’s good. The couple bites of crust that I snagged were really good, so I’m hopeful.

Then for dinner, I did some experimenting. I made cabbage “steaks,” which taste nothing like actual steaks but taste pretty darn good nonetheless. I also made my first-ever green beans recipe – I sautéed them in a teensy bit of coconut oil with minced garlic and a piece of leftover bacon. I’m notorious for saying that I hate green beans unless the venue I work at on weekends makes them (they make some r.i.d.i.c.u.l.o.u.s. green beans amandine), but these were actually really tasty. Not as good as the ones at work, but better than my normal perception of green beans. I’d totally make them again. For my main dish, I sautéed some zucchini noodles with onions and peppers and added half of a sliced chicken breast with some soy sauce, sriracha, fish sauce, lime juice, and garlic. Holy Moses, it was good! I only made enough of the chicken/veg stir-fry for tonight, but I have plenty of leftovers of the cabbage and the green beans. So far, though, that stir-fry was the winner.

Whether my mom will enjoy the low-carb thing or not, it seems like I’ll enjoy testing recipes for her. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Support Team

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

