Finder, Not Keeper

Finder, Not Keeper

I was having a pretty average Tuesday morning when I stopped into the restroom at work. As I was exiting the stall, I noticed something that didn’t quite look like toilet paper on the ground – it was this $50 bill. I looked around to see if it belonged to anyone, but I was alone, so I stuck it in my pocket and headed directly to our receptionist’s desk in the lobby.

When I explained that I’d found $50 just lying on the floor, she looked at me like I’d grown a third head. She seemed a little confused as she said, “That’s… really decent of you. Most people would have kept it.”

Really? REALLY?? Do we really live in a world where we can’t trust our own coworkers not to steal from us? I’d like to believe that if I lost the money, someone else would return it to the receptionist. It never even crossed my mind for a second to keep it; I wouldn’t be able to live with myself. I consider myself to be a pretty awful person, but I can’t even fathom making the decision to keep it – even under the cover of anonymity.

This is the third time in the past year that I’ve found something (a paycheck, a cell phone with money, and now $50) and had to hunt down the owner somehow. I say this not to get any kudos (puh-lease), but because 1) people, PLEASE HOLD ONTO YOUR STUFF and 2) I have to believe that if other people had found the money, they would have done the same thing.

Can we all start doing our part to ensure that doing the right thing becomes the rule instead of the exception? Please?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Finder, Not Keeper

  1. Nothing Personal says:

    Sadly, most people would have scooped that sucker up and never looked back. It’s amazing how surprised people are these days when someone actually does the right thing.

    Like

  2. maryaquino says:

    Did someone claim the $50?

    Like

Leave a Reply

