How Could This Go Wrong?

How Could This Go Wrong?

Hello, Wednesday. I’ve been dreading you, because I knew when you rolled around, it would be lawncare day.

It’s not that I needed to cut the grass or weed wack tonight (though I’m sure my neighbors wish I would have), but I needed to clean up the tree trimmings from where my dad chopped down a large portion of some trees in my yard last week.

First, I moved the trimmings from the curb to my breezeway. The garbage collectors took some of the trimmings on Monday, but there was still a gigantic mess after they left. Then, I bought myself a saw. After I returned home and knew I wouldn’t be driving anywhere the rest of the night, I poured myself a rather tall bourbon on the rocks with a splash of water and hoped for the best as I attempted to break down the tree trimmings as much as possible. Unfortunately, it’s going to be a really long process, and I should have bought a chainsaw instead of this one (when I sent a picture to my dad, he called me immediately in a panic and told me not to buy a chainsaw under any circumstances). This saw gets the job done, but slowly. And yeah, I got drunk faster than I cleared trees, so there’s a lot of work ahead of me.

By the time I was getting too tipsy to operate a saw, I received a volunteer call clarifying some procedures, so I had to stop anyway. It was probably for the best. Although, I don’t know if the person on the other end of the phone thought the same way – by that point, it was probably obvious that I’d had a stiff drink. Thank goodness I wasn’t on call to go anywhere tonight (if I had been, I wouldn’t have been drinking, but still).

As much as I hate having to do manual labor around the house, it was kind of fun throwing thick tree branches around. Made me feel like a tomboy. Then again, the saw and bourbon probably helped, too. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Could This Go Wrong?

  1. maryaquino says:

    My husband’s childhood best friend (who spends a decent amount of time around a bottle of alcohol) always says, “What could POSSIBLY go wrong?”

    I think your dad is right….a chainsaw and bourbon would have turned out much worse.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

