Comfort Food

Comfort Food

Some combination of weather, sleep deprivation, work stress, and life stress (probably all of the above) has accumulated to make me feel kind of miserable today. Huge headache, wishy-washy stomach, and just a general feeling of “please let me go to bed now.”

But alas, I was invited to a work happy hour with my boss and his boss this evening, and though I tried to bow out, both of them checked with me about 4 times during the course of the day to make sure I was coming, so I couldn’t really back out. In the end, it was a very cozy happy hour – me, the two bosses, and one other coworker. I suppose it’s not a bad idea to hang with the management crowd after work, especially when work is paying and extra-especially when you like the people you work with. We went to The Yard in Market Square; it was my third time at The Yard, but my first time at the Market Square location. I liked it, except it was super-loud. The last thing you want when you have a raging headache is a loud atmosphere… and I’m sure being there for an hour and a half is the reason why I feel like I’m dying now.

Anyway, we got some drinks, shared some poutine (I’m always introducing my coworkers to poutine!), and then got some grilled cheeses. I chose The Jerk, which was pulled pork, pepper jack cheese, slaw, apple chutney, and onion straws. It was served with a small bowl of tomato soup and some garlic parmesan chips. The tomato soup was my favorite part; it just felt good going down my throat. The garlic parm chips didn’t really taste garlicky, but that was okay, and my sandwich was delicious. I’m pretty sure my sandwich was the messiest option on the menu, so hats off to me for picking it for a happy hour with my bosses. 😛

I brought over half of my meal home with me, because I just couldn’t handle eating all of it. Plus, you know, the fact that I feel like I’m dying. That might be a slight exaggeration, but geez, I honestly feel terrible right now.

Luckily, I was planning on working from home tomorrow, so at least I can sleep in a little (assuming I can get to sleep). Tonight might be a great candidate for some Tylenol PM…

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

