Down on the Farm

Down on the Farm

Howdy.

Is it just me, or is it taking extra-long for the leaves to change colors this year? For three weekends in a row, I’ve planned on a certain excursion, but each Sunday, I look out my windows and see a sea of green. Don’t get me wrong – I love the green stuff; it tricks me into thinking it might still be summer – but I’m running out of weekends in 2016! Halp!

So in lieu of going on the adventure I’d planned, I took some time to head to one of my favorite places that I always visit in the fall – Schramm Farms. I wasn’t really feeling the baked goods (for once), and I wasn’t really sure what I was looking for other than some apple cider, but I wandered around, took some pictures, and ended up with a trunk full of cider, apples for applesauce, and a gigantic basket’s worth of “ugly” tomatoes to roast. I considered buying some pumpkins, but I’m hardly the decorating kind. Also, the pumpkins were all caked in mud and I didn’t have anything to set them on in my trunk.

After the farm, I knew where my next stop was going to be – the liquor store (hide your surprise). A couple weekends ago, we had to make a specialty drink for a wedding at work. I may have sampled it a little. Okay, maybe a lot, but I swear it was in the name of “quality control.” Anyway, the big plan for today was to recreate that drink, but on a smaller scale. For those of you who are into the ridiculously delicious fall drinks thing, here’s the recipe:

15 oz caramel-flavored vodka (now that I’ve tried both Stoli and Smirnoff, I can say with certainty that you should get the Smirnoff Kissed Caramel over the Stoli version)

36 oz apple cider

5 oz Rose’s lime juice

Mix all ingredients, then fill up a glass with ice halfway with it. Top with your choice of seltzer water, ginger beer, or ginger ale. 

I can say from experience that all three mixers taste amazing. 😉

After my liquor run, I realized I was super-close to Eighty Acres Kitchen & Bar, which I’ve wanted to visit for about two years now. On a whim, and since I needed something to cheer me up a little, I decided to treat myself to brunch. I ordered the Acre Burger, which came with bacon onion jam, aged cheddar, a fried egg, arugula, and fries.

I managed to finish about half, and it was pretty good. I don’t love egg yolks (hate them, actually), but it seemed to melt into the cheddar so I didn’t notice it too much. The fries, while delicious and extremely hot, could have maybe benefited from some rosemary, but that’s just me being a snob. For $10, this was a good deal, and I’m glad I got to try the place. Hopefully it won’t take me two more years to get back there!

When I’d finished gorging myself, I headed home to do some food prep. I kept myself pretty busy – I started off by making the mixed drink above (in a growler, for easy access through the week, which is DANGEROUS), then moved on to oatless oats (enough for the week), roasted tomatoes (from the farm), Massaged kale, chicken/avocado/onion/pepper salad, homemade pumpkin spice syrup, pumpkin cheesecake balls, and hard-boiled eggs (for egg white snacks throughout the week).

My fridge is looking pretty darn full right about now. 🙂

I don’t want to jinx us, but do we think that maybe we might get some colorful leaves by next weekend??

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

