Full of Beans

Full of Beans

So last night I experimented with green beans on a whim, and they turned out so fantastical that I don’t even know how to contain my excitement. I literally threw a bunch of things in with them and hoped for the best, and the best is what I got. I know it looks like there’s a ton of garlic in there – and there is – but it cooks down and mellows out. Brush your teeth after eating them, and you’ll be fine. Now my challenge is figuring out what I threw in there to make them taste so darn delicious. I’ll tell you this much – tons of garlic, coconut oil, some soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, ginger, and sriracha. Go forth and repel vampires.

Despite looking forward to green beans all day (WEIRD!), I had kind of an awful work day. It was really just the work part of it that sucked (which seems like a no-brainer, but there are specifics in play); there were other parts of the day that were really incredible. Namely, three volunteer things happened during the day.

For starters, our RC volunteer coordinator visited my office today for an event I’d helped plan! It was a crazy weird feeling to have someone from the volunteer organization sitting in our bistro with me in the middle of a work day. The event went really well, though, and being around volunteer people gave me the infamous warm fuzzies for the rest of the day. It doesn’t hurt that as soon as I walked into the bistro, she presented me with (as they say) an offer I couldn’t refuse. She’s in the process of updating some things and a new position has come around; she thought of me to fill it. As of today, pending a couple approvals, I’m officially the “Disaster Cycle Services Volunteer Engagement Lead” for all of Southwestern PA. (What a mouthful, eh?) This means more access, more responsibility, more departments to work with, and more volunteers I can corrupt. Huzzah!

The second awesome thing that happened is that I’m in the middle of updating (and in many cases, outright creating) a whole bunch of documentation for volunteers, and in the process, I’ve been working with someone to figure out how best to disseminate the information. I’ve been stewing on an idea for a little while, and we just might implement it. I’m way too excited for this one little thing to happen.

And the third is that the volunteer Finance team that I’m on (nerd alert) called me and asked if I’d be willing to do some Finance stuff the next few weeks due to the strain Hurricane Matthew is projected to inflict on the country, so I might get to do some new-to-me stuff soon. I might have to turn this one down due to work stuff and other commitments, but it would be cool if I could learn more.

So the volunteer stuff went incredibly well today; it was just the work stuff that sucked. Ah well, you win some, you lose some, right?

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Full of Beans

  1. maryaquino says:

    As you know…volunteer stuff rocks….

    Like

Leave a Reply

