Tha Crossroads

Tha Crossroads

I’ve had some tough decisions to make over the past 24 hours, and one of them was whether or not to continue as planned with the new volunteer orientation that was scheduled. I was pulled in to co-present this one, and given some of the things happening, it was the very last thing I wanted to do tonight. But I really like the other presenter, and she asked me to step in to present the technology portion, and I didn’t want to let her down. Plus, I wanted to meet the new trainees. So I went, and on my way, I encountered these sweet new fancy crosswalks. You’re so pretty, Pittsburgh!

The orientation went really well – it was the largest class anyone could remember, including the other presenter who’s been involved for four years. Despite the size of the group, everyone stayed engaged and asked great questions; I think it was my favorite orientation yet. For my part, once I got comfortable, I was on fire. I’m used to presenting during online meetings for work and during the occasional onsite travel, and I’ve taken speech/presentation classes in college, but I normally shirk away from presenting if I don’t have to. This was downright fun, though – I was able to convey some silliness and fun, along with a healthy (too healthy, maybe) dose of enthusiasm. One of the trainees asked me if I was an employee, which I’m taking as a compliment. And perhaps the best indicator of success – two people stopped me after we ended and asked about getting on our volunteer schedule right away. I’m so excited; I love fresh meat. đŸ˜‰

Needless to say, I’m glad I went; I would have felt awful if I’d canceled. Sometimes doing the right thing feels really good, even when it’s hard.

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tha Crossroads

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

  2. maryaquino says:

    Thought of you earlier when I saw a Red Cross Disaster Response truck. I’m imagining related to Hurricane Matthew.

    Like

Leave a Reply

