Lucky Charm

Lucky Charm

Two of my afternoon meetings got canceled today, so I had a little unexpected free time on my hands. I decided to make good use of it and went for a little walk, culminating at the library. While I was there, I wandered around to some sections I normally don’t visit, and I came across a book that I’d typically roll my eyes at. Today, though, I stopped and picked it up, read the jacket, and then read through a couple random pages. It’s completely, 100% not my style of book – it’s a nonfiction book that deals with things that I don’t even really enjoy thinking about, much less reading about. I put it down where I found it, moved on, and then found myself drifting back to it. It was really the strangest thing; it was like the book had a magnetic pull. Defeated, and figuring I’d check it out and return it without reading it, I included it in my stack of books and headed for the check out kiosk.

From the library, I walked to the street that was being painted not too long ago. The painting is done, and the street looks great – very colorful – and it’s been transformed into a park-like atmosphere with tables and chairs. I sat down at one of the tables and grabbed the book that had pulled me in. When I opened it this time, this train ticket from Phnom Pehn fell into my lap. The ticket is from 2004, stuck inside a book that was published in 2015. Weird, right? I liked it, though, so I kept it as my bookmark. By some miracle, the book grabbed my attention like you wouldn’t believe, and I breezed through the first two chapters as my afternoon slipped away. Even as I write this, I can’t wait to finish so I can go read more. So strange.

When I got back to the office, I had some volunteer emails waiting for me, and they were all good. Some emails related to the very near future (tomorrow’s team meeting), and some related to the new position I took on – as it turns out, it’s not just for Allegheny County like we’d thought; the position is actually for 28 counties. I’m not sure how we went from 1 to 28, but that’s a little terrifying (and awesome). The people in charge of the operation still want me in the role, but now I’ll have a different direct-report manager, and we need to have a bunch of meetings to figure out the best course of action. This is way bigger than I thought it was going to be, but I’m still pretty excited. Now I just need to figure out how I’m going to manage 28 counties + new volunteer orientations + new volunteer mentoring + regular on-call shifts + mapping team stuff + BBBS + work + second job + volleyball + the other initiatives I was looking into. Oh, and sleep might be fun on occasion. 😉

So while it looks like my schedule is going to get a little crazier than I’m used to (which is saying a lot), I’m excited for what might happen. I’m considering that little Cambodian train ticket bookmark to be my new lucky charm, so I hope it continues to bring me good luck, even if the good luck stresses me out a little. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

