Picture Perfect

Picture Perfect

My day today is poised to be suuuuper long, but hopefully fun.

To start off the fun (maybe that should be in quotations? “Fun”), I went for my annual biometric screening and flu shot at work. I have a love/hate relationship with this process – on the one hand, I love that nurses come to our work and do this stuff for us and it’s a perfectly acceptable reason to disappear for a little while in the middle of the day. On the other hand, my results are always a little misleading. On paper, and specifically with these biometric screenings, I am the absolute picture of health. For real – normal weight, good BMI and body fat % (lower than I expected, actually), good waist circumference, excellent blood pressure, great cholesterol, amazing HDL, low/no risk TC/HDL ratio, and fantastic glucose. In fact, almost all of my numbers were lower than my last set of blood tests back in June, so that’s encouraging. But the problem is, these types of screenings give me false hope since my doctors look at different stats. So while I feel uber-healthy right now, I know that the next time I go to the doctors I’ll be completely dejected. So. It’s a little frustrating. But, I’m going to enjoy my “perfect” health today and then worry about the doctor stuff later. 🙂

The other downside of this biometric screening business is the flu shot – this is my third year getting one, and it didn’t hurt going in (that’s what she said!), but my arm sure is sore now. Perfect timing, with such a busy and active day planned. Argh.

After work, I need to rush to get my car and then drive to the Strip for our monthly volunteer team meeting. I received an email last night asking if I’d be willing to lead part of the meeting tonight, so that should be interesting. I don’t know if I’m actually going to lead it, like in front of the podium, or if I’m just going to contribute from my seat. Lots of mysteries involved, but that’s what keeps me on my toes. I also need to meet with someone after the meeting, if not before, to discuss some things. I’m super-duper looking forward to this tonight. 🙂

And finally, after like 7 weeks of delays, we have our first volleyball game of the season tonight. I fully intend to make it to both the volunteer meeting and the volleyball game, but I’m afraid I might have to run late to the game – especially if my side-meeting needs to happen after the regular meeting. I’m both excited and nervous to play tonight – not only do I have a sore arm (whine, whine, whine), but my foot still hurts from when I hurt it on vacation. Yes, STILL. Also, I haven’t so much as touched a volleyball since August, so I’m not expecting great things tonight. But, I’m glad we’re back, even if the season was delayed an unnaturally long period of time.

That’s it for me today, wish me luck on not going crazy or passing out somewhere between the work stuff, the meeting stuff, and the volleyball stuff. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

