Five Things Friday: 10/21/16 Edition

Another week is in the books, folks, and it flew by at warp speed.

Someone asked me recently after taking a peek at my calendar, “Why do you pack your schedule so tightly? That’s crazy!” My answer at the time was that I don’t like having time to think – thinking leads to overthinking, which leads to bad things – but another answer might be that it keeps me on my toes and my life is never boring. Another unexpected side effect is that entire weeks go by and I have no idea what I’ve done because it’s all just a blur. Welcome to my life.

  1. Currently Reading: I’m still working on Wheat Belly Total Health, but I’m taking a little break from it. That’s because I got sidetracked by a book that is nothing like anything I’ve ever read before (nor wanted to read before), Accidental Saints: Finding God in All the Wrong People. I hesitate to include that in my list for today, because this is hardly a religious blog, and I’m not at all religious myself. To be honest, I’m kind of lost on the subject, and I hate thinking about it (and this is not my invitation to turn the comments section into a debate forum, so please don’t). But for whatever reason, I was drawn to this book as though it had a magnetic pull, and I haven’t been able to put it down. I love it because the author is completely real – she’s a Lutheran pastor and she swears a lot and talks about her past of addiction and promiscuity, and her relationship with religion seems to be a begrudging one. The experiences she details in the book very closely mimic a lot of things I’ve gone through myself, and she seems to approach them the way I do (although with a bit more of a hat tip to the whole religion thing). Especially these days, as I’m struggling to be a better person and to forgive and forget, I’m finding a lot of unexpected comfort in this book. Plus, it doesn’t hurt that it’s legitimately funny at times. So yeah, I’m so glad I was drawn to the book, and it’s proving to be a great read.
  2. Currently Eating: Still mostly avoiding grains and added sugars, and I feel amazing. I can’t believe how easy it’s been; I really thought I’d have a hard time with it and try to bargain with myself. But nope, I have very little – if any – desire to eat grains and added sugars these days. I did briefly consider getting ice cream earlier this week – it’s the last week/weekend for Page Dairy Mart to be open this year – but once I gave myself “permission” to go get some, I found I didn’t want it anymore, so I didn’t go. It’s funny how contrarian I am with myself.

    Eating this way has forced me to be a little more forward-thinking than I’m used to, and that’s proving to be a good thing. For example, earlier this week we had Moe’s for lunch at work. I knew this the night before, so I went to Aldi, picked up some salad fixins, and took them as part of lunch that day. So when the email came out that lunch was ready, I was able to make myself a chicken salad with my lettuce plus some Moe’s chicken, cheese, guacamole, pico de gallo, and salsa. I was able to plan ahead so I wouldn’t miss out – and I think that’s what would have bugged me, the missing out aspect since Moe’s usually consists of tortillas and/or tortilla chips.

    I was also prepared for our volunteer meeting last night, since we normally have pasta-based dishes for our team meeting. I brought some jerky and a string cheese with me to tide myself over through our volleyball game, but it turns out I didn’t need either one of them – whoever did the catering this week ordered rotisserie chicken, roasted vegetables, and fruit (along with a vegetarian pasta dish that I avoided). It’s as though whoever ordered has been reading this blog (don’t worry, I’m not so self-absorbed to believe that’s true). So once again, I didn’t have to miss out on stuff and I was able to enjoy dinner with the rest of the team. This grain-free/no added sugars lifestyle is easier than expected.

  3. Currently Craving: Nothing at all. No, really, nothing. It’s the weirdest thing. There’s so much space freed up in my mind these days now that I’m not thinking about what exciting things I’m going to buy at the store, or the ice cream I’m going to get later. I’m channeling the freed up brain space into volunteer stuff, so this is turning out to be a win-win for everyone. I really had no idea how much time I was spending on thinking about food before, maybe because it was one of my favorite things to do. But now that I’m not craving random things and I’m not wasting time or energy thinking about what I’m going to eat, I feel lighter, like a weight has been lifted from me. So weird.
  4. Currently Loving: Dudes, the Chile Lime seasoning from Trader Joe’s is ridiculous. I especially love it on egg whites, and it’s taken the place of ketchup for me. While it doesn’t have added sugar, it does have sodium (it’s a salt blend), so I’m trying to be careful with how much I use, but it’s fantastic. Highly recommended.

    Last night, after our team meeting, I stuck around to discuss some things. Eventually, there were only like 5 people left in the room, and I had just about the strangest (and nicest!) conversation ever. We were all talking in a little clump in a corner, and one person started off the conversation by saying to me, “It’s so funny, the stories everyone tells about you. You’re like an urban legend, but real. The bartending, the full-time job, volleyball, BBBS, the work you do with new volunteers, being on the schedule 7 days a week…” That’s both awesome and terrifying. Terrifying because really? People are talking about me? That’s scary, and I’m not sure I like that. But awesome because what a nice thing to say! Granted, I don’t know what else has been said, but at least there’s something nice in there! This was probably the first time in my life I’ve experienced chills and warm fuzzies at the same time.

    Also loving our volleyball team this season. I wasn’t 100% on board with this season thanks to injuries and a crazy-packed schedule, but we had an awesome time last night and we don’t suck nearly as bad as we did over the summer. At one point last night, I actually hit like a real volleyball player, with air time and everything. It’s not all that often that I “catch air.” It was so, so fun, and now I’m all-in. My foot doesn’t feel so great today, and I felt the bones moving around last night (what a weird feeling), but it was worth it.

  5. Currently Anticipating: Believe it or not, I’m kind of really excited for bartending tomorrow. Not for any real reason, but just because we’ve been having a really decent month for the first time in a loooooong time. I’m hoping this month is the gateway for a few more lucrative months due to the holidays. Regardless, we’re earning some money, and considering my full-time job’s paycheck was a few hundred short this month (they opened up stock options for us and I’m taking advantage of it), the extra money is very welcome.

    Also anticipating what will hopefully be a fun weekend on-call. I have a bunch of things I’ve agreed to take on/knock out, so even if we don’t get a call this weekend, I’ll still have plenty of things to do. Also, a lot of people who have been deployed for Hurricane Matthew are coming back this week, and I’ve had kind of an empty feeling without them the past couple weeks. I never realized how much I rely on some of those people, so I’m (selfishly) excited to have them back. The more I think of it, the more I realize I’m kind of like a really needy Labrador retriever – kind of like Taco is with me when I come home. All I want is for my favorite people to be around, and I will do absolutely anything for them.

    And now that I’ve compared myself to a dog, I should probably end this blog post. 😉

 

Have a great weekend everyone, and stay dry! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Things Friday: 10/21/16 Edition

  1. maryaquino says:

    I tried grain free for a week and it was the hardest thing I’ve ever done. As a vegetarian, most of my meals are centered around a pasta, a wrap…so…I’m trying to limit my gluten intake more than anything. And reducing sugar to an almost none state.

    Oh, and now I have a new need from Trader Joes. Great. They need a TJ here in Myrtle Beach. It’s too far a drive to Charleston on Wilmington.

    Like

    • Lindsay says:

      I think part of the thing that changed my mentality was reading this on the Whole30 site (though I’m not really following the Whole30):
      “It is not hard. Don’t you dare tell us this is hard. Beating cancer is hard. Birthing a baby is hard. Losing a parent is hard. Drinking your coffee black. Is. Not. Hard. You’ve done harder things than this, and you have no excuse not to complete the program as written. It’s only thirty days, and it’s for the most important health cause on earth – the only physical body you will ever have in this lifetime.” (http://whole30.com/step-two/)

      It really made me think – sure, it seems hard, especially when we’ve been conditioned our whole lives to eat grains, sugars, etc., but it’s really just a case of mind over matter. And for me, I’ve gotten very acquainted with how my brain works, so I know how to get myself to do things – it’s like I can reverse psychology myself. 😉

      Regarding TJ’s, YES, you absolutely need one in the MB area! If you ever want anything from there, let me know; I can mail you stuff!

      Like

Leave a Reply

