Started From The Bottom

Started From The Bottom

I’ve had a pretty darn crazy – but really good – day, especially considering the hour it started.

I was woken up at crazy o’clock for a disaster call, but it was the kind of call where I needed to call and wake up staff members instead of actually heading out. Because this incident was a special case, we needed to create a report to send to our regional office. Since I’ve been getting my feet wet in some staff stuff, I offered to create the report and send it to a manager for final edits and approval. Only after everything was sent and I was cc’d on the communication was I told that the report was routed through our chapter and our region, then our division, then it went to Headquarters and the CEO of the whole company. As if that weren’t terrifying enough, the report was then routed to the President of the United States. Yes, friends, I sat half-naked at my computer before 6 am and drafted a report that President Obama saw. From lowly volunteer to presidential adviser (not really, he probably barely even glanced at it). Still. Started from the bottom, now we here!

All of this hustle and bustle meant that I was wide awake by 6, and then couldn’t fall back asleep because my neighbors thought it was a great idea to start cutting down trees at 7 am. I wasn’t such a happy camper… but I did manage to get a TON of work done today. I don’t want to make this the start of a trend – I despise mornings and believe they shouldn’t be allowed to exist – but there’s something great about getting most of your work done by 1 pm.

Plowing through work in the morning allowed me much of the afternoon to work on my to-do list for the day. Part of that list entailed cleaning up my living room, my kitchen, my “hammock room”/office, and my bedroom. Through the course of the afternoon, not only did I find some papers I was looking for, but I also found a crisp $20 bill, an unused $25 AmEx gift card, a bunch of change, and insane amounts of Easter candy. I feel like I’m swimming in money right now. Who knew $45, some change, and some candy that I don’t even want to eat could make me feel so rich??

I still have a few things left on my to-do list, but I’ve offered myself up for another incident that happened earlier today, so I’m not sure I’ll get to finish it up. The last item on the list is “get a decent amount of sleep,” so hopefully I’ll at least manage to cross that one off! 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Started From The Bottom

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

