Pretend You Don’t Know Me

Pretend You Don't Know Me

All day long, I daydreamed of a quiet, uneventful night tonight. Then I realized I’d agreed to attend a special volunteer meeting after work, and still I thought I might make the uneventful thing happen – after all, I consider volunteer meetings to be like “coming home,” as I told someone tonight. So I hustled to take the bus to my car after work, and then drove back into town. Normally with a 6 or 6:30 meeting after work, I just walk from Downtown, but I was on-call tonight. A very big part of me didn’t want to deal with the hassle of driving back in, and I was soooo close to just walking there and leaving my car at the park & ride, but I figured it was better to be safe than sorry – if, in the unlikely event, I received a call while I was at the meeting, I’d need my bag with me (and the bag was in the car). Never mind the fact that I didn’t have my “disaster shoes” with me; I was wearing crocs ballet flats (don’t judge me).

So off I went to Wilkinsburg to get my car, and then back into town. I still managed to be early, so I dropped my stuff off, grabbed an on-call sheet as a precaution, and went out for a walk. Welp, the walk turned into a run, because not 10 minutes into the walk, my phone rang with a call from our Philly office. This meant I had to run back to the chapter to get the info I’d missed (because I was standing on the corner of a very busy (LOUD) street and it was hard to hear the dispatcher). When I got back inside, everyone was all excited because we haven’t seen each other in like five days (warm fuzzies!), but then I had to explain that I couldn’t hang out for the meeting because I had to leave. Luckily, the person I was on the schedule with also decided to come to the meeting, so we were able to save some time.

The scene was unlike anything I’d experienced before, but luckily it wasn’t too bad. There was caution tape everywhere, though, and the fire chief led us behind it and into the scene. It was at this point that I noticed the news crew filming, but I tried to ignore them; we had stuff to do. We managed to do our thing and then we left. As we were walking away, we heard the news reporter finishing up what must have been her millionth take, and we heard her talking about our organization… and then I realized that we’d been walking in and out of her shot all night. I don’t care about a reporter having to do re-shoots, but I do care about appearing on TV… meaning, I don’t want to. Especially when I’m not expecting it. But lo and behold, my mom just confirmed that she saw me on the news. Crocs and all.

Maybe she should just pretend she doesn’t know me, and not tell anyone about this tomorrow. People are going to call her parenting into question if they see the dubious choices I make in footwear. 😉

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pretend You Don’t Know Me

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

