Jump Around

Jump Around

So much for getting any rest this weekend!

A large part of the day was spent partaking in our first Big/Little outing – a trip to the Carnegie Science Center and SportsWorks. I think I was probably more nervous than my Little – aside from a 2 day stint with my baby cousin when I turned 16, today marked the first time I had to be responsible for another human being. For those of you (like me) without kids, let me tell you – it’s a whole different world out there when you have a kid with you.

Suddenly, I’ve been thrust into parent mode, and other adults gave me knowing glances while we were out – it was like they were saying “We’re in this together.” For once, I drove the speed limit the entire way there and back because I was panicked about what would happen if we got into an accident. I put myself between her and cars when we were walking along the street and into crosswalks. And every time she did something cool, like when she made a basket (there’s a basketball hoop there) or when she mastered front and back flips on the trampoline, I cheered for her. It was so strange how naturally it came about. Like, it felt good – really good – to be in charge of someone else’s well-being and to be proud of her. I wouldn’t mind having that feeling all the time. Maybe I’m not such a cold monster after all.

Anyway, we had a great time and it was a great icebreaker – we talked a bit, but it wasn’t forced, and we both laughed a lot. We were both so tired by the time we headed home that she fell asleep in the back seat… I wished I could have fallen asleep when I got home, but it turned out a nap was not in my future. Before we even left the Science Center, I got notified of a fire and was asked if I could start my shift early since no one else was available. So I went from the North Shore through Downtown (thanks, parkway closures), to Wilkinsburg to drop my Little off, then to my house to change into my disaster clothes and to grab a jacket and a string cheese, and then back into the Downtown/Strip District area. Tons of traffic, and lots of accidents, so the drive both ways took forever, but I’m glad I was able to help out. I finally made it home after about 10 very full hours of running around.

Oddly enough, part of me wouldn’t hate going on another call tonight, especially after midnight (Sunday night into Monday is my favorite shift). Then again, it’s gotten to the point where random people are actually texting me to remind me to get some rest, so that might be a good idea as well. (Believe it or not, I generally don’t go around whining that I’m tired all the time, so I’m starting to wonder if more people know about this blog than I’m aware.) No matter what happens, it’s definitely time for a hot bath and to hope that I can finish that before I get another call. 🙂

About Lindsay

I'm a Burgher who loves trying new foods and activities. I also seem to love getting myself into trouble. Basically, I'm a trainwreck waiting to happen. :)
This entry was posted in 365 Project 2014. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jump Around

  1. Pingback: 2016: A Year In Review | Confessions of a Human Vacuum

Leave a Reply

